Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu


Meet the Alumni Who Won their Recent Election Bids

By Dan Beardslee '07

2008 Alumni Achievement Award Winner Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA) was one of many alumni across the country who won their midterm election.

No matter their party’s color, alumni used their red, white, and blue AU roots in elections across the nation. From congressmen to assemblywomen, this year’s newly minted class of elected officials continues AU’s storied tradition of turning out alumni who are ambitious in their desire to serve their communities large and small.

Don’t see your classmate-turned-candidate listed? Contact us at so we can include their result below.

Julia Brownley, KSB/MBA ’79, California State Assembly (D)

Michael Dovilla, SPA/MPA ’99, Ohio State Representative (R)

Tim Huelskamp, SPA/PhD ’95, U.S. Representative (R-KS)

Tony Klein, SPA/BA ’69, Vermont State Representative (D)

Don Manzullo, SPA/BA ’67, U.S. Representative (R-IL)

Jim McGovern, CAS/BA’81; SPA/MPA ’84, U.S. Representative (D-MA)

Sam Olens, SIS/BA’78; SIS/MA ’80, Attorney General (R-GA)

Mike Panetta, SPA/BA ‘93, SPA/MA 94, Shadow Representative (D-DC)

Loretta Sanchez, KSB/MBA’84, U.S. Representative (D-CA)

Bill Shuster, KSB/MBA ’87, U.S. Representative (R-PA)

David Vieira, SPA/BA ’97, Massachusetts State Representative (R)

Drew Wrigley, WCL/JD '91, Lieutenant Governor of North Dakota (R)

Chris Zimmerman, SPA/BS ’81, Vice chair, Arlington County (Va.) Board (D)