Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Graduate Admissions | Registration Information


 

Questions?

CAS-Graduate Admissions
202-885-3620
Fax: 202-885-1344
casgrad@american.edu
Mary Graydon, Room 301

Clowery, Kathleen T.
Associate Director, Graduate Enrollment Management

CAS-Graduate Admissions
301 MGC, 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8081

Registration Information for Summer/Fall 2016

(For newly admitted College of Arts and Sciences graduate students)

Once you submit your enrollment confirmation, please contact the academic department to obtain academic advisement and registration access — select your academic program from the list below for contact information.

NOTE: Fall 2016 registration for newly admitted students begins April 14, 2016, and payment is due August 1, 2016.

 

Programs

 

PhD

Anthropology (PhD)

Jean Wogaman
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-1838
Email: wogaman@american.edu

NOTE: Students will be notified via email by their department about their advisor assignment.

 

Economics (PhD)

Dr. Maria Floro
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3139
Email: mfloro@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

History (PhD)

Dr. Eric Lohr
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2401
Email: history@american.edu

NOTE: PhD students may direct technical questions to history@american.edu, 202-885-2401 and substantive questions about course selection and planning to their faculty advisor or to the Director of Graduate Studies for History, Dr. Eric Lohr (elohr@american.edu).

 

Psychology: Behavior, Cognition & Neuroscience (PhD)

Dr. Arthur Shapiro
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1759
Email: arthur.shapiro@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Psychology: Clinical (PhD)

Dr. Kathleen Gunthert
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1701
Email: gunthert@american.edu

 
Back to top
  

Master's

Anthropology (MA)

Jean Wogaman
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-1838
Email: wogaman@american.edu

NOTE: Students will be notified via email by their department about their advisor assignment.

 

Art History (MA)

Dr. Andrea Pearson
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3428
Email: pearson@american.edu

NOTE: All incoming full-time students should enroll in "Approaches to Art History" and choose two electives among the other courses offered at the graduate level.

  
Back to top
 

Arts Management (MA)

Dr. Ximena Varela
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3883
Email: varela@american.edu

 

Audio Technology (MA)

Prof. Ana Cetina
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3477
Email: cetina@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Bilingual Education (MA)

Dr. Amelia Tseng
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3731
Email: bilingual@american.edu

 

Biology (MA/MS)

Dr. Daniel Fong
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2174
Email: dfong@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Biotechnology (MS)

Dr. Kathryn Walters-Conte
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6825
Email: kwalt@american.edu

 

Chemistry (MS)

Dr. Douglas Fox
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1735
Email: dfox@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Creative Writing (MFA)

Prof. Kyle Dargan
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2933
Email: kyle.dargan@american.edu

NOTE: Students are advised not to register for two literature criticism courses in their first semester.

 

Education Policy and Leadership (MEd)

Jason Snyder
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6900
Email: curriculum@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Economics (MA)

Dr. Kara Reynolds
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3768
Email: reynolds@american.edu

 

Education

See "Bilingual Education", "Curriculum and Instruction", "International Training & Education", "Special Education", or "Teaching".

Back to top
 

Environmental Science (MS)

Dr. Stephen MacAvoy
Graduate Program Director
Phone: (301) 693-1888
Email: macavoy@american.edu

 

Ethics, Peace & Global Affairs (MA)

Dr. Amy Oliver
Graduate Program Director
Ethics, Peace and Global Affairs
Phone: 202-885-1094
Email: aoliver@american.edu

NOTE: Please contact Dr. Oliver at your earliest convenience, as classes tend to fill up quickly.

  
Back to top
 

Game Design (MA)

See School of Communications.

  

Health Promotion Management (MS)

Dr. Stacey Snelling
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6254
Email: healthfitness@american.edu

 

History (MA)

Dr. Eric Lohr
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2401
Email: history@american.edu

NOTE: Students entering the Public History track should contact the Director of the Public History program, Dr. Daniel Kerr  (kerr@american.edu) prior to registering. All other students may direct technical questions to history@american.edu, 202-885-2401 and substantive questions about course selection and planning to their faculty advisor or to the Director of Graduate Studies for History, Dr. Eric Lohr (elohr@american.edu).

  
Back to top
 

International Economics (MA)

Dr. Kara Reynolds
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3768
Email: reynolds@american.edu

 

International Training & Education (MA)

Ophira Bansal
Program Coordinator
Phone: 202-885-3128
Email: bansal@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Literature (MA)

Dr. Erik Dussere
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2428
Email: dussere@american.edu 

 

Mathematics (MA)

Dr. Michael Limarzi
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3146
Email: limarzi@american.edu

  
Back to top

Nutrition (MS)

Christina Lunsford
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-3795
Email: lunsford@american.edu

 

Philosophy (MA)

Dr. Amy Oliver
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2140
Email: aoliver@american.edu

NOTE: Please contact Dr. Oliver at your earliest convenience, as classes tend to fill up quickly.

 

Psychology (MA)

Dr. Anthony Ahrens
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1714
Email: ahrens@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Public Anthropology (MA)

Jean Wogaman
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-1838
Email: wogaman@american.edu

NOTE: Students will be notified via email by their department about their advisor assignment.

  
Back to top
 

Quantitative Analysis (MS)

Dr. Michael Baron
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3132
Email: baron@american.edu

 

Sociology (MA)

Dr. Better Dickerson
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2479
Email: bdicker@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Spanish and Latin American Studies (MA)

Dr. Brenda Werth
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1449
Email: bwerth@american.edu

 

Special Education: Learning Disabilities (MA)

Dr. Jennifer Durham
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3720
Email: specialed@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Statistics (MS)

Dr. Michael Baron
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3132
Email: baron@american.edu

 

Studio Art (MFA)

Prof. Don Kimes
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3826
Email: dkimes@american.edu

NOTE: Students may also contact faculty members Zoe Charlton (Department Chair, Studio Art, Email: charlton@american.edu) or Jaylynn Saure (Administrative Coordinator, Email: saure@american.edu) if they have specific questions related to registration or the structure of the MFA Studio Art program.

  
Back to top
 

Teaching (MAT):
Early Childhood, Elementary, Secondary, K-12 , ESOL, Bilingual

Julie Sara Boyd
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3746
Email: teachered@american.edu

 

Teaching English as a Foreign Language — TEFL (MA, Online)

Dr. Polina Vinogradova
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1446
Email: vinograd@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Teaching English to Speakers of Other LanguagesTESOL (MA)

Dr. Polina Vinogradova
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1446
Email: vinograd@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Graduate Certificates

Applied Statistics (Certificate)

Dr. Michael Baron
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3132
Email: baron@american.edu

 

Arts Management (Certificate)

Dr. Ximena Varela
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3883
Email: varela@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Asian Studies (Certificate)

Dr. Jin Y. Park
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2919
Email: jypark@american.edu

 

Audio Production (Certificate)

Prof. Ana Cetina
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3477
Email: cetina@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Bilingual Education (Certificate)

Dr. Amelia Tseng
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3731
Email: bilingual@american.edu

 

Economics (Certificate)
(Applied Microeconomics, International Economic Relations, Gender Analysis)

Dr. Kara Reynolds
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3768
Email: reynolds@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Curriculum and Instruction (Certificate)

Jason Snyder
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6900
Email: curriculum@american.edu

  

Back to top
 

International Arts Management (Certificate)

Prof. E. Andrew Taylor
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1601
Email: eataylor@american.edu

 

Nutrition Education (Certificate)

Dr. Stacey Snelling
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6254
Email: healthfitness@american.edu

 

Post-Baccalaureate Premedical Certificate

Dr. Lynne Arneson
Phone: 202-885-2186
Email: larneso@american.edu

NOTE: Please contact Ms. Katherine Buster at buster@american.edu in the Office of Financial Aid regarding financial aid.

  
Back to top
 

Psychobiology of Healing (Certificate)

Dr. Deborah Norris
Graduate Program Director
Email: dnorris@american.edu

 

Public Anthropology (Certificate)

Jean Wogaman
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-1838
Email: wogaman@american.edu

NOTE: Students will be notified via email by their department about their advisor assignment.

  
Back to top
 

Public Sociology (Certificate)

Dr. Salvador Vidal-Ortiz
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2443
Email: vidalort@american.edu

 

Social Research (Certificate)

Dr. Salvador Vidal-Ortiz
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2443
Email: vidalort@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Teaching (Certificate)

Julie Sara Boyd
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3746
Email: teachered@american.edu

 

Technology in Arts Management (Certificate)

Prof. E. Andrew Taylor
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1601
Email: eataylor@american.edu

  
Back to top
 

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages — TESOL (Certificate)

Dr. Polina Vinogradova
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1446
Email: vinograd@american.edu

  

Translation (Certificate)

French Translation:
Dr. Naima Hachad
Professor
Phone: 202-885-1458
hachad@american.edu

Russian Translation:
Ryan Cassidy
Phone: 202-885-2381
Email: rc9518@american.edu

Spanish Translation:
Dr. Brenda Werth
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1449
Email: werth@american.edu

 

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies (Certificate)

Dr. Lauren Weis
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2926
Email: weis@american.edu


Back to top