Arab World Studies Faculty 

Director

Martyn Oliver Director, Arab World Studies CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Martyn was born and raised in southern Minnesota. In addition to Washington State and Boston, his studies also took him to Scotland, Lebanon, Austria, and Morocco. His work explores the construction o

  oliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2943

Faculty

Mustafa Gurbuz Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Mustafa Gurbuz is a political sociologist whose research focuses on political violence and terrorism, conflict resolution, social movements, Muslims in the West, and ethnic/sectarian politics in the M

  gurbuz@american.edu

Judd King Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Judd King currently teaches in the Department of Philosophy and Religion and is affiliated with the Arab World Studies Program. His primary research interests are modern political Islam, contemporary

  jking@american.edu

Sara Omar Professorial Lecturer CAS - Critical RGC Studies

Sara Omar has been interested in studying the logic, contexts, and heritages that have shaped early Islamic discourse on gender and sexuality and continue to inform Muslim praxes today. Her areas of r

  somar@american.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Mohammed Abu-Nimer Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Mohammed Abu-Nimer, of the International Peace and Conflict Resolution program, serves as Director of the Peacebuilding and Development Institute. He has conducted interreligious conflict resolution t

  abunimer@american.edu

  (202) 885-1656

Akbar Ahmed Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Ambassador Akbar Ahmed is the Ibn Khaldun Chair of Islamic Studies at American University in Washington, D.C and the former Pakistani High Commissioner to the U.K. and Ireland. Named “the world’s lead

  akbar@american.edu

  (202) 885-1641

Boaz Atzili Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Boaz Atzili is the Director of the SIS Doctoral Program. He is a political scientist who researches and teaches international politics. His interest is in international security with an emphasis o

  atzili@american.edu

  (202) 885-1648

Stephen Dalzell Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Steve Dalzell is a professorial lecturer at SIS. Dr. Dalzell’s research interests include urban security, civil-military operations, and various aspects of US military strategy, force structure and pe

  dalzell@american.edu

  (202) 885-6821

Naima Hachad Assistant Professor CAS-World Lang and Cultures

Research: Hachad’s research interests include questions of language, diasporic identities, and representations of the body in Francophone literature and visual arts of the Maghreb and the Caribbean;

  hachad@american.edu

  (202) 885-1458

Anders C. Hardig Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Anders Härdig is a Professorial Lecturer in the Comparative Politics and Regional Studies (CRS) program at the School of International Service (SIS). His main fields of expertise are international

  hardig@american.edu

  (202) 885-1541

Mohamed Alaa Abdel-Moneim Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Mohamed Alaa Abdel-Moneim, PhD, obtained a BSc in Political Science from the Faculty of Economics and Political Science (FEPS), Cairo University – Egypt. He was appointed as a Teaching Assistant in th

  moneim@american.edu

  (202) 885-3673

Shadi Mokhtari Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Shadi Mokhtari specializes in human rights, Middle East Politics and Political Islam. She has an extensive background in human rights and women’s rights issues in the Middle East and Muslim World. She

  mokhtari@american.edu

  (202) 885-6570

Erez Naaman Associate Professor CAS-World Lang and Cultures

Naaman’s research interests include Arabic language, literature, and culture in the medieval and Pre-Modern Islamic world and the intellectual history of this period.

  naaman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2468

Ghiyath Nakshbendi Executive in Residence KSB - International Business

Professor Nakshbendi teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in Islamic Finance, project finance, microfinance, Trade and Project Finance, export-import management, international business and the g

  nakshben@american.edu

  (202) 885-3268

Mohamed Nimer Assistant Professor School of Prof & Extd Studies

Dr. Nimer teaches International Affairs and Intercultural Understanding at the School of Professional and Extended Studies. He is author of The North American Muslim Resource Guide: Muslim Community L

  nimer@american.edu

  (202) 895-4921

Pedram Partovi Assistant Professor CAS - History

Pedram Partovi is a historian of the medieval and modern Muslim world. His current research focuses on the history of youth movements and their role in creating and disrupting the political order in I

  partovi@american.edu

  (202) 885-6746

Anthony Quainton Distinguished Diplomat in Residence SIS-School of Intl Service

Ambassador Anthony Quainton is the Diplomat-in-Residence and a professor of U.S. Foreign Policy, having previously served in the United States Foreign Service and held ambassadorships to the Central A

  quainton@american.edu

  (202) 885-1669

Abdul Aziz Said Professor Emeritus

Dr. Said is the senior ranking professor at American University and the first occupant of the endowed Mohamed Said Farsi Chair of Islamic Peace. He founded the university-wide Center for Global Peace,

  asaid@american.edu

Kendra Salois Assistant Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Kendra Salois received the Ph.D. in Music from the University of California, Berkeley, in 2013. Prior to joining the Department of Performing Arts at AU, she was a Visiting Assistant Professor at the

  salois@american.edu

  (202) 885-3431

Cathy Schneider Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Cathy Lisa Schneider writes and teaches on urban politics, comparative social movements, collective violence, urban policing, criminal justice and racial and ethnic discrimination in Europe, the Unite

  cschnei@american.edu

  (202) 885-1666

Randa Serhan Assistant Professor CAS - Sociology

Randa Serhan is a political sociologist who is interested in immigrant communities, nationalism, and citizenship. She began graduate school in Canada where she was interested in gender and law. Since

  serhan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3383

Diane Singerman Associate Professor SPA - Government

Dr. Singerman is an Associate Professor and comparativist whose research interests focus on political change from below, particularly in the Middle East, and more specifically Egypt. Her work examines

  dsinger@american.edu

  (202) 885-2362

John Willoughby Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Willoughby has recently returned from a two-year stay in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates where he helped create an undergraduate economics program at the new American University of Sharjah. He

  jwillou@american.edu

  (202) 885-3759