Asian Studies Faculty and Board

Director

Jin Y. Park Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Jin Y. Park is Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Founding Director of Asian Studies Program at American University. Park's research areas include East Asian Buddhism (especially Zen and Huayan

  jypark@american.edu

  (202) 885-2919

Advisory Council

Adam Auerbach Assistant Professor SIS - School of International Service

Auerbach’s research and teaching interests include the political economy of development, local governance and representation, and comparative political institutions, with a regional focus on South Asi

  aauerba@american.edu

  (202) 885-1816

Justin Jacobs Associate Professor CAS - History

Justin Jacobs is a historian of modern China. His research concerns the northwestern Chinese borderlands, comparative Eurasian empires, and the historical politics of archaeological expeditions. He is

  jjacobs@american.edu

  (202) 885-2170

Ji-Young Lee Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Ji-Young Lee’s research focuses on East Asian international relations, security, and diplomatic history. Her book, "China's Hegemony: Four Hundred Years of East Asian Domination" (Columbia Univers

  jiyoungl@american.edu

  (202) 885-6561

Shubha Pathak Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Shubha Pathak is a historian of religions who studies the mythological literatures of India, Greece, and Rome. In addition to teaching courses on comparative philosophy and comparative religion, she i

  pathak@american.edu

  (202) 885-2957

Li (Lily) Wong Assistant Professor CAS - Literature

Lily Wong received her PhD in Comparative Literature at University of California, Santa Barbara. Her research focuses on the politics of affect/emotion, gender/sexuality, comparative race, as well as

  wong@american.edu

  (202) 885-2987

Xiaoquan Zhang Assistant Professor CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Xiaoquan Raphael Zhang received his PhD in Chinese and Comparative Literature from Washington University in St. Louis. His primary research field is literature and culture of late imperial China, in p

  xrzhang@american.edu

  (202) 885-2376

Quansheng Zhao Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Quansheng Zhao is Professor of international relations and Chair of Asian Studies Program Research Council at American University; serving as Director of the Division of Comparative and Regional S

  zhao@american.edu

  (202) 885-1662

Affiliate Faculty

Amitav Acharya Distinguished Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

AMITAV ACHARYA is the UNESCO Chair in Transnational Challenges and Governance and Distinguished Professor of International Relations at the School of International Service, American University, Washin

  aacharya@american.edu

  (202) 885-3153

Akbar Ahmed Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Ambassador Akbar Ahmed is the Ibn Khaldun Chair of Islamic Studies at American University in Washington, D.C and the former Pakistani High Commissioner to the U.K. and Ireland. Named “the world’s lead

  akbar@american.edu

  (202) 885-1641

Kuniko Ashizawa Adjunct Instructor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Ashizawa's research interests include Japan’s foreign, security and ODA policy, U.S.-Japan-China relations, regional institution-building in Asia, and the role of the concept of state identity in

  ashizawa@american.edu

Evan Berry Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Evan Berry is Associate Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Co-Director of the Ethics, Peace, and Global Affairs master's program. His research examines the relationship between religion and the

  berry@american.edu

  (202) 885-2493

Robin Broad Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Robin Broad, Professor of International Development, established and heads SIS’s International Development Program’s unique curricular offerings on economic globalization and development and on en

  rbroad@american.edu

  (202) 885-1478

Jie Cai Instructor CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Jie Cai received his BA in Chinese from Shanghai Normal University in China and his MA and MLS from the University of Iowa. Prior to AU, he had been teaching all levels of Chinese for over 16 years at

  jcai@american.edu

  (202) 885-6922

Christine BN Chin Interim Dean SIS - School of International Service

Dr. Chin’s research and teaching interests are in the political economy of transnational migration, Southeast Asian studies and intercultural relations. She is the author of In Service and Servitude:

  cchin@american.edu

  (202) 885-1603

Naoko Wowsugi Professorial Lecturer CAS - Art

Naoko Wowsugi, an artist of Korean-Japanese descent, works with photography, video, and performance as forms of communication. Naoko received her MFA from Virginia Commonwealth University, BFA from bo

  wowsugi@american.edu

C. Anne Claus Assistant Professor CAS - Anthropology

C. Anne Claus is Assistant Professor in the Anthropology Department. C. Anne Claus is a cultural anthropologist who researches environmental issues in contemporary Japan. Her academic work investigate

  claus@american.edu

  (202) 885-6797

Louis Goodman Professor and Dean Emeritus, SIS SIS-School of Intl Service

Louis Goodman carries out research on social change and politics in Latin America and in Asia. His current research focuses on public goods, regional alliances and development. He has published widely

  goodman@american.edu

  (202) 885-1603

Pek Koon Heng-Blackburn Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Pek Koon Heng teaches courses on International Relations and International Political Economy in Southeast and East Asia. She also directs SIS’s summer graduate program on “Globalization and Region

  pheng-b@american.edu

  (202) 885-1688

Randall Henning Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Henning specializes in international and comparative political economy, global governance and regional integration.  He has focused recently on international regime complexity and the euro c

  henning@american.edu

  (202) 885-1707

Miles Kahler Distinguished Professor SIS - School of International Service

Kahler is an expert on international politics and international political economy, including global governance, international monetary and financial cooperation, and regional institutions. Kahler was

  kahler@american.edu

  (202) 885-6393

Kenneth Knight Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Interests: L2 Japanese phonology; minority languages of Japan; diaspora and language attrition; minority languages and national language policy

  knight@american.edu

  (202) 885-6337

Easten Law Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Easten Law's teaching and research focuses on intercultural relations, inter-religious studies, and civil society. His current interests and studies include critical pedagogy in intercultural educatio

  law@american.edu

  (202) 885-6578

Surjit Mansingh Adjunct Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Surjit Mansingh presently teaches as an adjunct in the School of International Service. She retired a few years ago from her position as Professor and Chairperson, Centre for International P

  mansingh@american.edu

Susan McDonic Assistant Professor CAS - Sociology

Susan McDonic's research interests include contemporary religious movements, international development, Africa, Asia and globalization. Specifically she has studied one of the world’s largest developm

  mcdonic@american.edu

  (202) 885-2490

James Mittelman University Professor Emeritus

James Mittelman is Distinguished Scholar in Residence and University Professor Emeritus. His work focuses on globalization, development, and political economy, with emphasis on sub-Saharan Africa and

  jmittel@american.edu

  (202) 885-1643

Jisook Paik Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS-World Lang and Cultures

Dr. Jisook Paik’s research interests include SLA, language education planning, cross-cultural communication and culture in bilingual education, and qualitative methods in classroom-based research. Bef

  paik@american.edu

  (202) 885-6843

Ying-Chen Peng Assistant Professor CAS - Art

Dr. Peng specializes in late imperial and modern Chinese art history with a focus on gender issues and globalization of material culture. Before joining the American University she worked at the Natio

  peng@american.edu

  (202) 885-6475

Tazreena Sajjad Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Tazreena Sajjad serves as Professorial Lecturer in the Global Governance, Politics and Security (GGPS) Program in the School of International Service (SIS) at American University in Washington D.C

  sajjad@american.edu

  (202) 885-6572

Vidyamali Samarasinghe Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Vidyamali Samarasinghe is a Professor in the International Development Program of the School of International Service, American University, Washington D.C. Currently she is the Director of the Interna

  svidy@american.edu

  (202) 885-1487

Judith Shapiro Director - Dual Degree in Natural Resources and Sustainable Development SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Judith Shapiro is on the faculty of the Global Environmental Politics program and directs the Dual Degree in Natural Resources and Sustainable Development (NRSD) with University for Peace in Costa

  shapiro@american.edu

  (202) 885-1629

Hye Young Shin Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Shin received her Ph.D. in Multilingual and Multicultural Education from George Mason University and Master’s degree in TESOL from American University. As a native Korean, she has taught both heri

  hshin@american.edu

  (202) 885-1513

Stephen Tankel Assistant Professor SIS - School of International Service

Stephen Tankel is an assistant professor in the School of International Service at American University and a non-resident senior fellow at the Center for a New American Security. Professor Tankel spec

  tankel@american.edu

  (202) 885-2369

Chenyang Xiao Associate Professor CAS - Sociology

Dr. Xiao earned his MA at University of Toledo, OH, and PhD at Washington State University. His main research interests include environmental beliefs, attitudes, behaviors and public opinion over envi

  xiao@american.edu

  (202) 885-2426

Svetlana Xu Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Xu has an extensive background as a linguist in both Chinese and Russian, with an emphasis in the areas of philosophy, literature, culture and communication.Possessing an impressive academic backg

  sxu@american.edu

  (202) 885-2262

Yang Zhang Assistant Professor SIS - School of International Service

Professor Yang Zhang’s research covers the areas in comparative historical sociology, political sociology, contentious politics, political networks, and social science philosophy. His book project exa

  yangz@american.edu

  (202) 885-1678