Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Bishop McCabe Lectures | 2007-2008 Speakers

Dr. Akasha Gloria Hull: Fiction and Black Feminism

October 3, 2007

Scholar, poet, and feminist activist Dr. Akasha Gloria Hull is the author of Soul Talk: The New Spirituality of African-American Women, Healing Heart, Poems 1973-1988, Kitchen Table, and Color, Sex and Poetry: Three Women Writers of the Harlem Renaissance. Of Soul Talk, Noble Prize winner Toni Morrison says, “Soul Talk is a worthy tribute to Toni Cade Bambara and to the lives and work of African-American women writers.”

She has received fellowships and awards from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Rockefeller Foundation Fellowship, National Institute of Women, the Ford Foundation, and the American Association of University Women.

Combining her interests in women’s studies and literature, Akasha Hull’s research has been credited for bringing overdue attention to African-American women writers of the early twentieth century. Her works as an editor include All the Women Are White, All the Blacks Are Men, but Some of Us Are Brave: Black Women’s Studies (with Patricia Bell Scott and Barbara Smith), Give Us Each Day: The Diary of Alice Dunbar-Nelson, and The Works of Alice Dunbar-Nelson.

Dr. Hull is Professor Emerita of women’s studies and literature at the University of California, Santa Cruz, where she served as chair of the women’s studies department from 1989-1991.


Poetry Reading by Edward Hirsch

March 19, 2008

Edward Hirsch is the author of seven books of poetry—including For the Sleepwalkers, Wild Gratitude, The Night Parade, Knopf, Earthly Measures, Lay Back the Darkness, and the forthcoming Special Orders—as well the acclaimed How to Read a Poem and Fall in Love with Poetry, among other non-fiction texts.

Hirsch has written articles, columns, and reviews on literature and poetry for The New Yorker, Poetry, American Poetry Review, The Nation, New Republic, New York Times Book Review, and Paris Review.

Edward Hirsch’s awards include the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Lavan Younger Poets Award from The Academy of American Poets, and the Delmore Schwartz Memorial Award from New York University. He has received fellowships from the Guggenheim and MacArthur foundations, an Ingram Merrill Foundation Award, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the Rome Prize from the American Academy in Rome, and a Lila Wallace-Reader’s Digest Writers’ Award. Since 2000, he has served as the President for the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.