Program Leadership & Contacts

For general inquiries please contact econ@american.edu or 202-885-3770.

Mieke Meurs Professor and Department Chair, Economics CAS - Economics

Professor and Department Chair Meurs has recently taught Comparative Systems, Heterodox Microeconomics, Transition Economies, the Economics of Gender, and Political Economy.

  mmeurs@american.edu

  (202) 885-3776

Full Time Faculty & Staff

Robert Blecker Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Blecker’s research interests include international trade, open economy macroeconomics, the value of the dollar and the US trade deficit, economic integration in North America, the Mexican ec

  blecker@american.edu

  (202) 885-3767

Robert Feinberg Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Feinberg received his BA from the University of Pennsylvania, and PhD from the University of Virginia. He taught for ten years on the faculty of Pennsylvania State University, has served as

  feinber@american.edu

  (202) 885-3788

Luciano Floridi Distinguished Scholar in Residence

Luciano Floridi (www.philosophyofinformation.net) is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Hertfordshire – where he holds the Research Chair in Philosophy of Information and the UNESCO Chair in

  floridi@american.edu

Maria Floro Professor CAS - Economics

Maria S. Floro is Professor of Economics at American University in Washington DC and co-director of the Graduate Program on Gender Analysis in Economics (PGAE). Her publications include books on Infor

  mfloro@american.edu

  (202) 885-3139

Boris Gershman Assistant Professor CAS - Economics

Boris Gershman has been on the faculty of American University since 2012. Born and raised in Moscow, he came to the United States in 2007 and earned his PhD degree in Economics from Brown University i

  gershman@american.edu

  (202) 885-3688

Amos Golan Professor CAS - Economics

Amos Golan directs the Info-Metrics Institute at AU. His main area of research is information, information processing and optimal decision rules based on efficient use of information (Info-Metrics).G

  agolan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3783

Bernhard Gunter Assistant Professor CAS - Economics

Dr. Gunter is an international scholar in development economics. His areas of expertise include development macroeconomics, debt sustainability analysis, and the social impact of globalization. He is

  gunter@american.edu

  (202) 885-3148

Mary Eschelbach Hansen Professor CAS - Economics

Mary Eschelbach Hansen is an expert in U.S. social policy. She is widely published in the fields of child policy, bankruptcy, and economic history. Her work addresses key issues in race, gender, and e

  mhansen@american.edu

  (202) 885-3793

Thomas Husted Professor CAS - Economics

My research examines the political economy of various government expenditure programs, including primary and secondary education, income redistribution, and federal disaster aid.

  husted@american.edu

  (202) 885-3773

Alan Isaac Associate Professor CAS - Economics

Alan Isaac is working in agent-based modeling with applications to the intergenerational transmission of wealth and to epidemiology. He also does research in Post Keynesian macroeconomics, broadly def

  aisaac@american.edu

  (202) 885-3785

Evan Kraft Economist in Residence CAS - Economics

Evan Kraft specializes in the economics of transition, monetary policy and banking issues. He served as Director of the Research Department and Adviser to the Governor of the Croatian National Bank. H

  kraft@american.edu

  (202) 885-3711

Jessica Leight Assistant Professor CAS - Economics

I am an Assistant Professor of Economics at American University, specializing in development economics and political economy. Previously, I served as an assistant professor of economics at Williams Co

  leight@american.edu

Gabriel Mathy Assistant Professor CAS - Economics

My research and teaching interest are currently focused on the macroeconomics of the Great Depression, and on macroeconomics and economic history more generally. I received my PhD and MA degrees from

  mathy@american.edu

  (202) 885-3708

Mieke Meurs Professor and Department Chair, Economics CAS - Economics

Professor and Department Chair Meurs has recently taught Comparative Systems, Heterodox Microeconomics, Transition Economies, the Economics of Gender, and Political Economy.

  mmeurs@american.edu

  (202) 885-3776

Amin Mohseni-Cheraghlou Assistant Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Mohseni's research interests include development macroeconomics, social economics, political economy of the Middle East, and Islamic finance/economics. He has taught courses on micro/macroec

  amohseni@american.edu

  (202) 885-3752

Arturo Porzecanski Distinguished Economist in Residence SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Arturo C. Porzecanski, Distinguished Economist in Residence, is an expert in international finance, emerging markets and Latin American economics. He previously taught at Columbia University, New

  aporzeca@american.edu

  (202) 885-1602

Natalia Radchenko Assistant Professor CAS - Economics

Natalia Radtchenko’s areas of specialization are microeconometrics, labor economics, and public policy evaluation. Recent publications have been featured in Economie et Prevision, Review of Income and

  nataliar@american.edu

  (202) 885-3709

Kara Reynolds Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, CAS CAS - Economics

Prof. Reynolds joined the department in 2003 after completing her Ph.D. at the University of Virginia. Her research interests include the political economy of trade protection, particularly antidumpin

  reynolds@american.edu

  (202) 885-3768

Xuguang Sheng Associate Professor CAS - Economics

Xuguang Simon Sheng is an Associate Professor of Economics at American University. His research interests include time series econometrics, economic and financial forecasting. He has published in Jour

  sheng@american.edu

  (202) 885-3782

Ralph Sonenshine Assistant Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Sonenshine is an Assistant Professor of Economics at American University. Ralph combines an academic background in industrial organization, international economics, and economic history with

  sonenshi@american.edu

  (202) 885-3733

Martha Starr Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Starr's research interests are consumption, saving, wealth, healthcare spending, health behaviors, regulation of tobacco products, healthcare antitrust, pharmaceuticals, markets for healthca

  mstarr@american.edu

  (202) 885-3747

John Willoughby Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Willoughby has recently returned from a two-year stay in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates where he helped create an undergraduate economics program at the new American University of Sharjah. He

  jwillou@american.edu

  (202) 885-3759

Jon Wisman Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Wisman teaching interests are: History of Economic Thought, Methodology, History, Introductory Macroeconomics. His research spans a broad spectrum of domains from history of economic thought

  jdwisma@american.edu

  (202) 885-3158

Mahmud Yesuf Assistant Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Yesuf’s research interests include poverty, environment and development issues in low income countries, with a special focus on households’ behavioral issues (such as risk aversion). He has

  yesuf@american.edu

  (202) 885-3689