Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

SETH | News Archive 2011-2012

Alumni News

Former student, Shaun Johnson (SETH/MAT '02), completed his doctorate at IU Bloomington and is now an Assistant Professor at Towson U.

Denisha Jones is ABD at IU Bloomington and is currently completing a future faculty fellowship at Howard University.

SETH students, Laura Herring (SETH/M.Ed.'11), Ayana Jackson (SETH/MAT '11), LeeAnn Parker (SETH/MAT), and Kristen Luppino (SETH/MAT '11), recently presented at the National Council of Teachers of English on 21st Century Literacies in Early Childhood Classrooms.

Karen D'Angelis, a 2004 doctoral graduate and staff at AU, has taken the role of Department Chair at Bay Path College in Longmeadow, Massachusetts. 

A recent SETH graduate, Laura Herring (SETH/M.Ed. '11) was nominated for a position as a member of the Board of Directors for the Early Childhood Education Assembly of the National Council of Teachers of English.

* * * * *

The 5th Annual Larissa Gerstel Critical Literacy Symposium was held on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at American University. The Larissa Gerstel Literacy Collection is designed to expose emerging readers to international and multicultural literature. This event featured panelists Maria Paula Ghiso, Carole Boston Weatherford, and Jessica Staff, a 2010 AU Graduate.

* * * * *

American University's School of Education, Teaching, & Health hosted City Year on Monday, October 17, 2011. This event officially launched the partnership between the two programs. City Year held their Unity Rally on the Quad and then the members enjoyed a day of activities on AU's campus.

* * * * *

Sarah Irvine Belson, Dean of the School of Education, Teaching, & Health at AU and Maxine Singer, President of Math for America DC are profiled in Innovators, a short science video series featuring NSF funded scientists, educators, mathematicians, and engineers whose innovations are helping to create opportunities for the future. To view this episode, click here.

* * * * *

The Health Promotion Management Program won the National Wellness Institute's Distinguished Academic Program Award. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding academic health promotion/wellness programs that consistently produce high-quality graduates ready to implement wellness programs into a variety of work sites. Additionally its purpose is to award university programs that meet or exceed national accreditation standards for wellness education.

* * * * *

Congratulations to the School Without Walls 9th grade winners of the 22nd annual Celebration of Youth Global Harmony through Personal Excellence Essay Contest! Grisselle Rivera, Brigid Carmichael, Michelle Smitham, Olivia Weisskopf won 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 6th place respectively. Honorable mentions were granted to Kimkia Hunter, Joycelynn Kane, Alex Morales-Sanz, and Anatol Steck. All are students of SETH Adjunct Professor and DCPS English Teacher Kamel Igoudijl. We salute you!