Environmental Science Faculty

Dalia Abbas Research Assistant Professor

I was born and raised in the United Kingdom. I am very grateful that I experienced three continents growing up - Africa, Europe and North America. Providing evidence-based investigation to help monit

  saleh@american.edu

Michael Alonzo Assistant Professor CAS - Environmental Science

I'm a geographer specializing in satellite and airborne remote sensing of the terrestrial environment. My work falls mostly into one of three categories: 1) Urban ecosystem analysis using fusion of hy

  alonzo@american.edu

  (202) 885-1770

Valentina Aquila Assistant Professor CAS - Environmental Science

I am an atmospheric scientist, using global climate models and satellite, aircraft-, and ground-based observation to understand the role of aerosols in the climate system. I mainly work on aerosols fr

  aquila@american.edu

  (202) 885-1772

Willem H. Brakel Adjunct Professor CAS - Environmental Science

Willem Brakel is an environmental scientist, teacher and career diplomat with broad experience conducting research in marine and freshwater ecosystems, managing government programs, and advocating/neg

  brakel@american.edu

  (202) 885-6868

Michael Brody Adjunct Professor CAS - Environmental Science

Michael Brody is an environmental scientist who had a long career in the Federal Government before coming to American University as an Adjunct Professor. He started his career in wetlands research and

  mbrody@american.edu

Albert Cheh Professor CAS - Environmental Science

My research focuses on signatures of exposure to environmental carcinogens. I have also studied the enzymatic digestion of biomass to produce cellulosic ethanol biofuel, error-prone bypass DNA polym

  acheh@american.edu

  (202) 885-1772

Alexander Golub Adjunct Professor

Alexander Golub has 25 years of experience in environmental and natural resource economics, including 20 years of experience in energy and climate change with particular focus on climate economics and

  agolub@american.edu

Kiho Kim Professor CAS - Environmental Science

Dr. Kim is a marine ecologist specializing in tropical coral reefs. His research focuses on understanding the role of diseases in marine ecosystems and the synergistic effects of environmental factors

  kiho@american.edu

  (202) 885-2181

Karen Knee Assistant Professor CAS - Environmental Science

I grew up in Charleston, SC, and the happy days I spent at the beach gave me a lifelong love of the water. I left home to pursue a degree in Environmental Science at Brown University, and after gradua

  knee@american.edu

  (202) 885-1093

Stephen MacAvoy Department Chair, Environmental Science CAS - Environmental Science

Working in biogeochemistry and ecology, Professor MacAvoy has been particularly interested in areas where marine and freshwater systems interface such as those that appear in tidal aquatic environment

  macavoy@american.edu

  (202) 885-3003

Jesse Meiller Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Environmental Science

Jesse Meiller is an marine ecologist and environmental toxicologist. Jesse received her PhD from the University of Maryland in the Marine, Estuarine, Environmental Sciences (MEES) program after doing

  meiller@american.edu

  (202) 885-1780

Christina Pondell Professorial Lecturer CAS - Environmental Science

Dr. Pondell is a marine scientist with a focus on organic chemistry. After earning her bachelor’s degree in marine science from Texas A&M University at Galveston, she studied impacts of climate and hu

  cpondell@american.edu

Angela van Doorn Professorial Lecturer CAS - Environmental Science

Angela van Doorn is a zoologist who specializes in wildlife conservation. Her research focused on understanding and mitigating human/primate conflict in the Cape Peninsula of South Africa.

  vandoorn@american.edu

  (202) 885-6864

Claire Williams Faculty Fellow in Residence

A retired full professor in forest biology, Dr. Williams has also worked in the US State Department and at Weyerhaeuser Company R&D. As Senior Fulbright Scholar to the University of British Columbia i

  cgwill@american.edu

Affiliate Faculty

C. Anne Claus Assistant Professor CAS - Anthropology

C. Anne Claus is Assistant Professor in the Anthropology Department. C. Anne Claus is a cultural anthropologist who researches environmental issues in contemporary Japan. Her academic work investigate

  claus@american.edu

  (202) 885-6797

Robert Jernigan Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

Robert W. Jernigan holds a PhD from the University of South Florida and is a Professor of Statistics at AU. He was formerly Senior Statistician, US Environmental Protection Agency, Statistical Policy

  jernigan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3170