Israel Studies Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Michael Brenner Distinguished Historian in Residence and Director, Center for Israel Studies CAS - History

Michael Brenner is the Seymour and Lillian Abensohn Chair in Israel Studies and directs AU’s Center for Israel Studies. He received his PhD at Columbia University and taught previously at Indiana and

  mbrenner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2752

Dan Arbell Scholar in Residence

Dan Arbell, a scholar-in-residence at the Center for Israeli Studies at AU, is a 25 year veteran of the Israeli Foreign Service, serving in senior posts overseas in the UN, the US and Japan, and holdi

  arbell@american.edu

Boaz Atzili Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Boaz Atzili is the Director of the SIS Doctoral Program. He is a political scientist who researches and teaches international politics. His interest is in international security with an emphasis o

  atzili@american.edu

  (202) 885-1648

Lauren Strauss Scholar in Residence

Dr. Lauren B. Strauss is a professor of modern Jewish history, specializing in American Jewish cultural and political history. She has taught for twenty years at universities in the Washington, D.C. a

  strauss@american.edu

Guy Ziv Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Guy Ziv is an assistant professor in the School of International Service's U.S. Foreign Policy Program. He teaches a variety of undergraduate and graduate courses on U.S. foreign policy, the Middl

  ziv@american.edu

  (202) 885-3147

Emerita/us Faculty

Myra Sklarew Professor Emerita

Myra Sklarew was educated at Tufts University and the Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University. She studied bacterial viruses and genetics at Cold Spring Harbor Biological Laboratory with Salvador

  msklarew@american.edu

Russell Stone Professor Emeritus

Russell A. Stone has research and teaching interests that include development, public opinion, social change, Middle Eastern and Third World societies, and environmental sociology. He has published on

  rstone@american.edu

Staff

Laura Cutler Managing Director, Center for Israel Studies CAS - Israel Studies, Center for

Laura Katz Cutler is Managing Director of the Center for Israel Studies at American University. A former commercial banker with Wells Fargo Bank, Ms. Cutler is a community activist and active member o

  cutler@american.edu

  (202) 885-3780

Affiliate Faculty 

Harold Schwar

Philip Brenner Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Philip Brenner has published widely on U.S./Cuba relations, U.S./Latin American relations, contemporary U.S. foreign policy, and the Cuban Missile Crisis. His most recent book is Cuba Libre: A 500

  pbrenne@american.edu

  (202) 885-1605

Erran Carmel Professor KSB - Information Technology

Professor Carmel teaches Information Technology (I.T.). He researches the globalization of technology work: crowdsourcing, impact sourcing, global software teams, offshore outsourcing, He also leads

  carmel@american.edu

  (202) 885-1928

Frank DuBois Associate Professor KSB - International Business

Professor DuBois is Associate Professor of International Business and Chair of the International Business Department. His research focus is in global supply chain management, customs facilitation, cou

  fdubois@american.edu

  (202) 885-1967

Amos Golan Professor CAS - Economics

Amos Golan directs the Info-Metrics Institute at AU. His main area of research is information, information processing and optimal decision rules based on efficient use of information (Info-Metrics).G

  agolan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3783

Calvin Goldscheider Scholar in Residence in History and Jewish Studies

Dr. Calvin Goldscheider joined the American University faculty as a Polinger Scholar in Residence in fall 2006 and returns this fall to work with faculty, and advise the Center for Israel Studies. Dr.

  goldsche@american.edu

Gershon Greenberg Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Gershon Greenberg is the author of three definitive bibliographies of religious thought and the Holocaust, and numerous articles on German-Jewish philosophy, history of Jewish thought in America and r

  greenbe@american.edu

  (202) 885-2912

Jill Klein Interim Director, CTRL KSB - Information Technology

Professor Klein brings more than 30 years of IT and banking management experience to the classroom. Jill Klein serves as the Assistant Dean for Digital Initiatives and New Programs at the Kogod School

  jklein@american.edu

  (202) 885-1856

Alan Kraut University Professor CAS - History

Alan M. Kraut is University Professor of History and an affiliate faculty member of the School of International Service. He is also a Non-resident Fellow of the Migration Policy Institute. Currently,

  akraut@american.edu

  (202) 885-2410

Lisa Leff Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies CAS - History

Lisa Leff is a historian of 19th and 20th century Europe whose research focuses on Jews in France. Her first book, Sacred Bonds of Solidarity (Stanford UP, 2006), examines the rise of Jewish internati

  leff@american.edu

  (202) 885-6377

Richard Linowes Assistant Professor KSB - Management

Professor Linowes teaches strategy, global leadership, entrepreneurship, cross-cultural management and sustainability. His professional management experience includes several years with Accenture and

  linowes@american.edu

  (202) 885-1990

Pamela Nadell Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History CAS - History

Pamela S. Nadell holds the Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History and is Director of the Jewish Studies Program. A specialist in American Jewish history and women’s history, she teaches

  pnadell@american.edu

  (202) 885-2425

Saul Newman Interim Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education SPA - Government

Saul Newman is an associate professor in the Department of Government in the School of Public Affairs at American University in Washington, DC. He received his PhD in 1989 from the Department of Polit

  snewman@american.edu

  (202) 885-6240

Scott Parker Professor CAS - Psychology

Scott Parker began teaching at American University in 1974 and retired in 2017. His primary research activities were in psychophysics, sensory psychology, research methods, and data analysis.

  sparker@american.edu

  (202) 885-1719

David Rosenbloom Distinguished Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Distinguished Professor of Public Administration, Rosenbloom specializes in constitutional-administrative law, administrative theory, history, reform, and personnel management. A major contributor to

  rbloom@american.edu

  (202) 885-2361

Maina Chawla Singh Scholar in Residence SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Maina Chawla Singh has lectured widely at international institutions including Oxford, Cambridge, Yale, Cornell, Michigan, Indiana, Brandeis, and at the Library of Congress. She was Scholar-in-Res

  msingh@american.edu

  (202) 885-1603

Jeffrey Sosland Assistant Professor School of Prof & Extd Studies

The focus of Dr. Jeffrey Sosland's research is the politics of globalization and the political economy of the Middle East. He has published numerous academic works and has been an active participant i

  sosland@american.edu

  (202) 895-4922

Thomas Zeitzoff Assistant Professor SPA - Justice, Law and Criminology

Dr. Thomas Zeitzoff is an assistant professor in the School of Public Affairs at American University. He received his Ph.D. in Politics from New York University in 2013, and was previously a postdocto

  zeitzoff@american.edu