Expand AU Menu

Literature | Faculty Teaching Awards


  • Literature
    Fax: 202-885-2938
    Battelle Tompkins, Room 237

    Rangel-Mullin, Rebecca
    Sr. Administrative Assistant

Mailing Address

The Department of Literature is renowned for its excellent teaching. Faculty members who have won distinguished teaching awards include:


Janet Auten
AU Curriculum Development Grant: CWP/Library Team Teaching pilot program, 1999 AU College of Arts & Sciences Award for Outstanding Teaching by a Member of the Adjunct Faculty, 1995-96


John Hyman 
University Award for Outstanding Service, 2000
All-time Favorite Professor Award, American University Residence Hall Association, 1994


Charles Larson
Outstanding Teaching Award, 1990


Deborah Payne Fisk
Outstanding Teaching Award, 1992


Richard McCann
Scholar-Teacher of the Year, 2005

Jocelyn McCarthy
Jane Stanhope Award for Outstanding Teaching by an Adjunct Faculty Member, College Writing Program, American University, 2004


Glenn Moomau
American University Office of Student Service Spirit of Service Award for Faculty, 1997


Trisha Reichler
Jane Stanhope Award for Outstanding Teaching, 2001  


Roberta Rubenstein
University Curriculum Development Award, 2004, 1987
Scholar-Teacher of the Year, 1994
Outstanding Teaching Award, 1987
Outstanding Teaching Award, 1979


Richard Sha
Outstanding Teaching, American University Undergraduate Student Confederation, 2004
Outstanding Teaching in General Education, 2002


Cynthia Bair Van Dam
Outstanding Professor, University Honors Program, 2003-04