Jeffrey Adler Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

Jeffrey Adler conducts research mainly in harmonic analysis and representation theory (which can be thought of as the study of symmetry from a formal point of view), and also occasionally supervises u

  jadler@american.edu

  (202) 885-3361

Maria Barouti Professorial Lecturer CAS - Math & Statistics

Maria Barouti began working at AU in Spring 2016 while completing her Ph.D. studies at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). She has taught a variety of math courses at UMBC and R.I.T,

  barouti@american.edu

  (202) 885-3132

Donna Dietz Professorial Lecturer CAS - Math & Statistics

Dr. Dietz completed her Master's degree at the University of Massachusetts Lowell and her PhD at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in upstate New York. She has taught Mathematics and Computer Science i

  dietz@american.edu

  (202) 885-6804

Artur Elezi Associate Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

Prior to coming to AU in 2002, Dr Elezi held postdoctoral positions at Stanford University and Brigham Young University. His research interests are in string theory/high energy physics and more recent

  aelezi@american.edu

  (202) 885-3119

Mary Gray Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

A statistician and lawyer, Professor Gray’s areas of research include applications of statistics to human rights, economic equity, legal issues, and education. She is the founder of the Association fo

  mgray@american.edu

  (202) 885-3171

Jeffrey Hakim Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

Jeffrey Hakim’s research primarily lies within the broad mathematical areas of representation theory and harmonic analysis. Most recently, he has focused on supercuspidal representations and symmetric

  jhakim@american.edu

  (202) 885-3131

Alexandra Kapatou Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Math & Statistics

Alexandra Kapatou grew up in the sunny, Mediterranean country of Greece. Her studies in Greece included mathematics, architectural and freehand drawing, and geology. After arriving in the US, and afte

  kapatou@american.edu

  (202) 885-6471

Michael Keynes Associate Dean of Graduate Studies Graduate Studies, Office of

After obtaining a PhD in Mathematics from the University of Washington studying representation of real reductive Lie groups, Dr. Keynes was an NSF postdoctoral fellow at UC Berkeley studying mathemati

  keynes@american.edu

  (202) 885-3151

Michael Limarzi Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Math & Statistics

Mike Limarzi earned his Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University in 2011 focusing in algebraic number theory. He received his bachelor's degree from Georgetown University, spending a semester abroad in Flo

  limarzi@american.edu

  (202) 885-3146

Jun Lu Associate Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

Jun Lu got his Bachelor's degree in statistics from East China Normal University in Shanghai, China, his hometown. he then went to University of Missouri-Columbia, from where he received his Ph.D. in

  lu@american.edu

  (202) 885-3042

Jaime Miller Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Math & Statistics

Jaime Miller began teaching at American University in Fall 2006 after completing separate master's degrees in Mathematics and Education. Jaime's graduate research included work in the areas of Differe

  jmiller@american.edu

  (202) 885-3685

John Nolan Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

Prof. Nolan has taught at the University of Zambia (in Africa), and Kenyon College (in Ohio), and worked in a software company before coming to American University. His main research interests are in

  jpnolan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3140

Maria Pospieszalska Director, Professional Science Masters in Biostatistics CAS - Math & Statistics

Prior to joining AU, Dr. Maria K. Pospieszalska held research scientist positions at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Virginia, the Department of Biomedical Engineeri

  pospiesz@american.edu

  (202) 885-6472

Virginia Stallings Associate Professor CAS - Math & Statistics

Lyn Stallings is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics at American University. She served as Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies from 2011 to 2016. In her role as Vice Provost, sh

  vstalli@american.edu

  (202) 885-3166

Kenneth Ward Professorial Lecturer CAS - Math & Statistics

Dr. Ward joined the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at AU in 2015. His current research interests lie in number theory and arithmetic geometry: broadly, questions relating to finite fields an

  kward@american.edu

  (202) 885-3116