Neuroscience Faculty

Victoria Connaughton Associate Professor

Dr. Connaughton’s research interests encompass the disciplines of developmental biology (nervous system development) and neurobiology. Specifically, she is interested in examining the relation between

  vconn@american.edu

  (202) 885-2188

Stefano Costanzi Associate Professor CAS - Chemistry

Dr. Costanzi's research interests mainly revolve around the application of computational techniques to the study of drug targets and the identification of molecules that modulate their activity. The m

  costanzi@american.edu

  (202) 885-1722

Terry Davidson Director of the Center for Behavioral Neuroscience and Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Davidson earned his undergraduate degree in Psychology at Michigan State University and earned his Ph.D. with a specialization in Learning and Memory at Purdue University before completing his pos

  terryd@american.edu

  (202) 885-6541

Jeffrey Kaplan Associate Professor CAS - Biology

Kaplan’s lab studies bacterial biofilms, which are thin, slimy layers of bacteria that grow on surfaces exposed to a liquid. Biofilms grow on rocks in streams, inside pipes, on teeth, and on implanted

  kaplanjb@american.edu

  (202) 885-2113

David Kearns Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Research interests:animal models of drug abuse and addiction treatment; the effects of drug cues on behavior; conditioning and learning; extinction; theories of learning; animal models of gambling.Rec

  kearns@american.edu

  (202) 885-1711

Monika Konaklieva Associate Professor CAS - Chemistry

Dr. Konaklieva’s research is in the area of exploring different approaches for delaying of microbial resistance. Current projects include computer-aided design and synthesis of novel beta-lactams as w

  mkonak@american.edu

  (202) 885-1777

Mark Laubach Professor CAS - Biology

I am a neurobiologist interested in how groups of neurons work together to process information. My research has focused on the frontal cortex and basal ganglia and their roles in executive control and

  mark.laubach@american.edu

  (202) 885-2116

Anthony Riley Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Riley received his undergraduate training at the University of North Carolina and obtained his PhD from the University of Washington. He did a post-doctoral fellowship in pharmacology at Dalhousie

  alriley@american.edu

  (202) 885-1720

Colin Saldanha Professor CAS - Biology

Hormones are profound modulators of brain structure and function; with influences that span the lifetime of an organism. The muti-faceted and pluripotent neural effects of steroids require that a spec

  saldanha@american.edu

  (202) 885-2156

Catherine Schaeff Associate Professor CAS - Biology

Dr. Schaeff's training is in behavior and evolutionary biology. Her research interests include behavior, conservation biology, molecular ecology and most recently, human sexual identity – examining th

  schaeff@american.edu

  (202) 885-2175

Catherine Stoodley Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Catherine Stoodley is interested in the neuroscience of cognitive development, particularly the role of the human cerebellum in cognition, cognitive development and in neurodevelopmental disorders. Sh

  stoodley@american.edu

  (202) 885-1785

Bei Xiao Assistant Professor CAS - Computer Science

Professor Xiao studies human and machine perception of object properties in dynamic scenes. She did her undergraduate work in chemistry at Tsinghua University. She received her PhD in Neuroscience fro

  bxiao@american.edu

  (202) 885-6885