Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu



CAS Dean's Office
Fax: 202-885-2429
Battelle-Tompkins, Room 200

CAS Dean's Office
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8012

On Campus

Dean Honors New and Promoted Faculty

By Ariana Stone

Peter Starr, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences by Lamine Laimeche

Peter Starr, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences by Lamine Laimeche

On September 16, Peter Starr, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, welcomed newly hired, tenured, and promoted College faculty members and honored the College’s University Professors and endowed chairs at a ceremony and reception in the Katzen Arts Center Rotunda.

At the event, department chairs introduced the following new faculty members and Dean Starr welcomed the tenured and promoted faculty members and newly endowed chairs:


Department of Anthropology
Joshua Woodfork, Assistant Professor

Department of Art
Namiko Kunimoto, Instructor
Danielle Mysliwiec, Assistant Professor

Department of Chemistry
Matthew Hartings, Assistant Professor
Abigail Miller, Assistant Professor

Department of Economics
Xuguang Sheng, Assistant Professor

Department of History
Katharina Vester, Assistant Professor

Department of Language and Foreign Studies
Luis Cerezo, Instructor
Erez Naaman, Assistant Professor

Department of Performing Arts
William Brent, Instructor
Meghan Raham, Assistant Professor
Ximena Varela, Associate Professor

Department of Psychology
Catherine Stoodley, Assistant Professor

Department of Sociology
Kim Blankenship, Professor and Department Chair


Tenure and Promotion to Full Professor
Jeffrey Adler, Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor
Fernando Benadon, Department of Performing Arts
Kim Butler Wingfield, Department of Art  
Jun Lu, Department of Mathematics and Statistics 
Paul Oehlers, Department of Performing Arts
Rachel Watkins, Department of Anthropology

Paul Winters, Department of Economics

Appointment to University Professor
"The University Professorship, one of AU's highest honors, has traditionally been awarded to outstanding scholar-teachers whose work bridges two or more of the university's six schools," Starr stated. He proceeded to recognize "two exceptional colleagues" who were named University Professor this past fall.

Jack Child, Department of Language and Foreign Studies, affiliate faculty in the School of International Service
Alan Kraut, Department of History, affiliate faculty in the School of International Service   

Endowed Chairs
"The act of appointing exceptional scholar-teachers to endowed chairs and professorships is an important sign of an academic institution's maturity and further ambition," stated Starr. "As of six months ago, the College had but a single faculty member in an endowed position: Jeff Reiman in the William Fraser McDowell Professorship of Philosophy."  He then recognized the two newest chair holders.

James Girard, The Horace S. and May Davidson Isbell Chair in Chemistry
Pamela Nadell, The Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History