Applied Music Faculty

Brass

Benjamin Albright Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Originally from Niagara Falls, New York, Benjamin recently moved to the DC metro area after winning a trumpet position with “The President’s Own” United States Marine Band. Dr. Albright completed his

  balbrigh@american.edu

Todd Baldwin Adjunct Instructor

Todd Baldwin served with The U.S. Army Band “Pershing’s Own” from 1984-2016 and was most recently the Element Leader for The U.S. Army Ceremonial Band. Previous positions include Trombone Section Lead

  tbaldwin@american.edu

Scott Cameron Adjunct Instructor

A native of Ashton, Maryland, Mr. Cameron is a member of The United States Army Field Band, stationed at Ft. Meade Maryland, and has performed in all 50 states. As a freelance tubist, Mr. Cameron has

  cameron@american.edu

Conducting

Daniel Abraham Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Choral/orchestral conductor and musicologist; specialist in 17th- and 18th-century music. Conductor and Artistic Director of the Bach Sinfonia and Bach Sinfonia Voci. Period-instrument performances in

  dabraham@american.edu

  (202) 885-3427

Matthew Brown Instructor CAS - Performing Arts

Matthew Brown has worked with musicians of all ages and levels ranging from elementary school string ensembles to professional orchestras. He currently is the Director of Orchestras at American Univer

  mbrown@american.edu

  (202) 885-3433

Guitar

Joshua Bayer Musician in Residence

Jazz guitarist, bassist, composer, and director Joshua Bayer has performed at The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, The Detroit Opera House, Blues Alley, The Harlem Renaissance Festival, The Wor

  jbayer@american.edu

Magdalena Duhagon Serrat Adjunct Instructor

Born in Uruguay, guitarist Magdalena Duhagon has performed in the United States, Canada, Europe, Middle East and South America, giving concerts in cities like Paris, Berlin, Warsaw, Alexandria, Cairo,

  duhagons@american.edu

Alicia Kopfstein-Penk Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Alicia Kopfstein-Penk, Ph.D., is an enthusiastic postmodernist who has taught musicianship, guitar, music history, and general education courses at American since 1998, and musicianship for the Washin

  akp@american.edu

Frederick Wilchek Adjunct Instructor

Born and reared in Berea, Ohio, a suburb of Cleveland, Frederick Wilchek began his study of guitar with Dick Lurie, a well known Cleveland instructor. Mr. Wilchek, inspired by the Beatles, also joined

  wilchek@american.edu

Percussion

Nobue Matsuoka Associate Librarian University Library

Nobue, a native of Japan, moved from New Orleans in 2006 to become the Music/Performing Arts librarian at American University. As the head of the music library in Katzen, Nobue is responsible for the

  nobue@american.edu

  (202) 885-3465

Harold Summey Adjunct Instructor

Harold Summey, a Newport News, VA native, has been a drummer/percussionist for over thirty years. The individuals he has performed with as either drummer or percussionist include Sonny Rollins, Clark

  summey@american.edu

Piano and Keyboard

Yuliya Gorenman Musician in Residence CAS - Performing Arts

A piano instructor in the applied music program, award-winning Russian-born American pianist Yuliya Gorenman has been called a "pianist without fear." Now firmly established in her performing career,

  ygoren@american.edu

  (202) 885-3435

Ann Kang Assistant Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Ann Teresa Kang is a piano instructor in the applied music program. She joined the music faculty at American University in Fall 2007; she also teaches courses in music theory, opera, and general educa

  akang@american.edu

  (202) 885-3859

Jon Ozment Adjunct Instructor

Jon has been working in and around the DC area for twenty years as a performer, producer, composer, and arranger. He has produced and arranged recordings by local jazz artists Imani, Maryann Redmond,

  ozment@american.edu

Matthew Van Hoose Musician in Residence

Hailed by the Baltimore Sun for his “spirited and polished playing,” Matthew Van Hoose has established himself as one of the most sought-after pianists in the Baltimore-Washington area. Dr. Van Hoose

  vanhoose@american.edu

Strings

Paul DeNola Adjunct Instructor

A native of the San Francisco Bay Area, Paul DeNola joined the National Symphony Orchestra's bass section in July of 2006. Before moving to Washington, D.C., Paul spent three seasons as a member of th

  denola@american.edu

Osman Kivrak Musician in Residence

Osman Kivrak, violist, was a winner of the National Scholarship Competition in Turkey, the Baltimore Chamber Music Awards, the Maryland State Arts Council Individual Artist Awards, the Culver (Califor

  okivrak@american.edu

Theresa Lazar Musician in Residence

Teri Lazar, violinist, has performed as a soloist and chamber musician in the United States, Europe and the Middle East. Dr. Lazar performs with the Sunrise Quartet and the National Gallery of Art Str

  tlazar@american.edu

Jacqueline Pollauf Adjunct Instructor

Harpist Jacqueline Pollauf, praised for playing with "transcendent ability" (Megan Ihnen, Sybaritic Singer), and a "steady and most satisfying elegance" (Stephen Cornelius, The Toledo Blade), made her

  pollauf@american.edu

Nancy Snider Director, Music Program CAS - Performing Arts

Cellist Nancy Jo Snider is a member of the Opera Lafayette Orchestra and performs regularly in a variety of chamber and period instrument ensembles in venues ranging from The John F. Kennedy Center fo

  nsnider@american.edu

  (202) 885-3872

Voice

Linda Allison Musician in Residence CAS - Performing Arts

Linda Allison, mezzo-soprano is the Musician in Residence for Voice at American University. Ms. Allison’s students perform a wide range of vocal styles from classical and contemporary Art Song, Concer

  lallison@american.edu

  (202) 885-3416

Lisa Carrier Baker Adjunct Instructor

Lisa is a vocal technician/performer in the “crossover” style of opera and musical theatre. Favorite operatic roles: Hero in Beatrice et Benedict, Lauretta in Gianni Schicchi with Nico Castel of the M

  carrier@american.edu

Susan Derry Adjunct Instructor

Susan Derry debuted on Broadway in the Tony-winning revival of Wonderful Town and played the role of Christine in The Phantom of the Opera in Hamburg, Germany. Her theatrical career includes appearanc

  derry@american.edu

Barbara Hollinshead Adjunct Instructor

Barbara Hollinshead is a voice instructor in the applied music program. A mezzo-soprano, she has studied in NY, Washington and with Max van Egmond in the Netherlands. Career highlights include singing

  bhollins@american.edu

Kelly Smith Jones Adjunct Instructor

Kelly Smith Jones has performed in a wide variety of musical styles. She has performed with Wolf Trap Opera Company, New York Gilbert and Sullivan Players, Washington Concert Opera, Summer Opera Thea

  ksjones@american.edu

Ethan Watermeier Adjunct Instructor

Singer, actor, and voice teacher Ethan Watermeier most recently returned to the Shakespeare Theatre Company this fall as standby for Marcus Lycus and Miles Gloriosus in their Helen Hayes award nominat

  watermei@american.edu

Woodwinds

Jonathan Baumgarten Musician in Residence

Jonathan Baumgarten is a flute instructor in the applied music program. He holds a MM from Juilliard where he was a scholarship student of Samuel Baron. He studied with Thomas Nyfenger on a National E

  jonathan.baumgarten@american.edu

Rika Brent Adjunct Instructor

Rika Brent is an oboe instructor in the applied music program. She received her BM and MM from The Cleveland Institute of Music. She studied with John Mack, Daniel Stolper, and Richard Killmer. Ms. B

  rbrent@american.edu

Eric Dircksen Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Eric Dircksen is a bassoon instructor in the applied music program. Eric Dircksen studied saxophone and bassoon at Indiana University in Bloomington and at Southern Methodist University in Dallas. He

  dircksen@american.edu

Noah Getz Musician in Residence

Dr. Noah Getz is a saxophone instructor in the applied music program. He made his Carnegie Hall debut as the recipient of the National Alliance for Excellence Grand Prize and has presented solo recita

  getz@american.edu

Lane Shioji Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

LANE SHIOJI is a clarinet instructor in the applied music program. He received a Bachelor of Music in Clarinet Performance degree from Baylor University, a Master of Music in Clarinet Performance degr

  shioji@american.edu