Expand AU Menu


  • Student Research Award Winners Announced
  • Neuroscience Booming at AU
  • Childhood Obesity and Cognition Symposium
  • Love Your Body, Thick or Thin
  • Research Labs
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Behavior, Cognition & Neuroscience

The Department of Psychology offers BA, Minor, BA/MA, MA, and PhD programs. Courses are offered in clinical, social, personality, development, behavioral neuroscience, and experimental psychology. Students may design programs that approach psychology as a social science, a natural science, or a combination of both.

Please see also:



More News

Follow AU Psychology on: Facebook Twitter

Related Links

Center for Behavioral Neuroscience


Upcoming Theses and Dissertation Defenses

Dorothea Moore will defend her Masters Thesis on Thursday, April 23rd,2015 from 2-5 pm in Asbury 336. The title of her thesis is: The developmental relationship between cerebellar grey matter and cognition in a pediatric population. 


Committee Members are:

Catherine Stoodley, Chair

Lauren McGrath

Zehra Peynircioglu

Martha Falkenstein will defend her dissertation on Tuesday, April 28, 2015 from 10 am-1 pm in MGC 203-205. The title of her dissertation is: “Expanding the Scope of Treatment for Trichotillomania: Treatment Modalities and Interpersonal Context”



David A. F. Haaga, Ph.D. (Chair)
James J. Gray, Ph.D.
Nathaniel R. Herr, Ph.D.
Gloria Mathis, Ph.D.

 Michael F. Greenfield will defend his dissertation on May 20, 2015 from 10 am to 1 pm in Asbury 336. The title is The Effect of Sleep Quality on Daily Rumination: Implications for the Sleep-Emotion Relationship. 


Kathleen Gunthert, Ph.D., Chair

David A. F. Haaga, Ph.D.

Nathaniel Herr, Ph.D.

Candice Alfano, Ph.D.