Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

WCALB | Past Program, 2014

Winter Conference on Animal Learning and Behavior
Winter Park, Colorado
February 8-12 2014

Saturday, February 8, 2014

7:30pm -- Buffet Reception

Snowblaze Building B - Unit 34

All sessions are in the Conference Room on the second floor of Snowblaze, main building. We will try to open the Conference Room a half-hour before a session is scheduled to begin for those who want to arrive early and socialize. If it isn’t open, there is a “commons” area nearby. Five minutes is added to indicated presentation times for discussion.

Sunday, February 9, 2014

Keynote Address

Stanley Weiss, Chair

Pavlovian and Skinnerian Processes are Genetically Separable

Björn Brembs
Universität Regensburg

Abstract--The commonalities and differences between operant and classical conditioning have been debated ever since Skinner and Konorski embarked on their epic exchange about "two types of conditioned reflex and a pseudo type" in the 1930s. New techniques that surmount experimental design problems identified in early research allow for a much improved separation of the two types of conditioning. These technical advances, combined with modern genetic manipulations, provide evidence that Pavlovian and Skinnerian processes separate not between the learning procedure (operant vs. classical), but between learning content (self vs. non-self). The picture emerging today reinforces Skinner's early insight that operant conditioning is a composite situation, comprised of a 'Pavlovian' component (learning about stimuli - 'world-learning') and a 'Skinnerian' component (learning about the consequences of actions - 'self-learning'). A research program that distinguished these processes genetically is described.

Björn Brembs is Professor of Neurogenetics at Universität Regensburg. He obtained his doctorate in genetics and neurobiology from Universität Würzburg and has done post-doctoral research at the University of Texas Houston Health Science Center. Thematically, Dr. Brembs’ research concerns the general organization of behavior with regards to reward and punishment with the objective of better understanding how brains accomplish adaptive behavioral choice. See http://brembs.net/about.html.

6:00pm-Focus Session 1

Operant/Classical Conditioning: Comparisons and Interactions

Comparison of Pavlovian and Operant Processes at the Behavioral and Neurological Levels. Jeremie Jozefowiez (Université Lille Nord de France)

Monday, February 10, 2014

4:00pm - Focus Session 2

Carl Danson, Chair

Operant/Classical Conditioning: Comparisons and Interactions

Ten-thousand trials of Pavlov, Skinner, and Nevin. Peter Killeen (Arizona State University) 25-min.

The Voluntary Operant. Allen Neuringer (Reed College) 25-min.

The Instrumentally Derived Incentive-Motivational Function. Stanley J. Weiss (American University) 25-min.

Ten-Minute Break

Accounting for Operant Learning With Three Procedural Steps of Very Different Respondent Conditioning Using the Model of Hierarchical Complexity. Michael Lamport Commons (Harvard Medical School) & Sagun P. Giri (Dare Institute) 25-min.

Conditioning Reinforcers: A Pavlovian or an Operant Learning Process? Jesús Rosales-Ruiz (University of North Texas) 25-min.


8:15pm--Conference Dinner at Fontanot's


Tuesday, February 11, 2014

4:00pm – Fear, Aggression, Resurgence plus Behavioral Pharmacology

Scott Cohn, Chair

Research on Fear and Aggression in Dogs. Jesús Rosales-Ruiz (University of North Texas) 20-min.

Conditioned dopamine release scales with cocaine dose during Pavlovian conditioning. Bruce Mandt (University of Colorado-Denver) 15-min.

How real-time dopamine concentrations in the nucleus accumbens change in relationship to the temporal response pattern engendered by a fixed-interval schedule of reinforcement. Eric B. Oleson (University of Colorado-Denver) 15-min.

Investigating Resurgence in Humans Through a Table-Top Game. Erica Foss (University of North Texas) 15-min.

Ten-Minute Break

5:35pm – Research Seminar Session: Operant/Classical Conditioning: Comparisons and Interactions

Björn Brembs, Facilitator

Michael Commons, Jeremie Jozefowiez, Peter Killeen, Allen Neuringer, Jesús Rosales-Ruizand Stanley Weiss with contributions by all conference participants encouraged.

 

WCALB Organizing Committee

Stanley Weiss, Convener & Program
Allen Neuringer
John Staddon
Michael Commons

 

WCALB 2014 Participants

Richard Allen Richard.Allen@ucdenver.edu
Lindsey Arbuthnot toledoland@yahoo.com
Melinda Beane BeaneM@lanecc.edu
Björn Brembs bjoern@brembs.net
Scott Cohn scohn@western.edu
Michael Commons commons@tiac.net
Carl Danson cedanson@ix.netcom.com
Tracy Frier tracyfrier@unt.edu
Erika Foss ericakfoss@gmail.com
Regan Garden regan.garden@gmail.com
Jeremie Jozefowiez freedomfrog62@gmail.com
Morgan Katz mlkatz.143@gmail.com
Peter Killeen killeen@asu.edu
Bruce Mandt Bruce.Mandt@ucdenver.edu
Jose Neri joseneri2009@yahoo.com
Lucero Neri luceroneri2007@yahoo.com
Allen Neuringer aneuring@reed.edu
Martha Neuringer neuringe@ohsu.edu
Erik Olsen ERIK.OLESON@UCDENVER.EDU
Chase Owens cbptraining@aol.com
Jesús Rosales-Ruiz Jesus.Rosales-Ruiz@unt.edu
Russell Silguero Russellsilguero@gmail.com
Douglas Smith toledoland2@yahoo.com
Stanley Weiss sweiss@american.edu
Laura Will lab00@sbcglobal.net
Sean Will sean@givethemlove.com

 

Back to top