The Milton and Sonia Greenberg Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award

The Milton and Sonia Greenberg Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award recognizes faculty who have made a significant contribution to research-based analyses of teaching practices or of curricular design. The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning is a movement in post-secondary education that promotes systematic analysis of the practice of teaching along with application of research-based approaches to instruction and curricular design.

Eligibility | Terms of Award | Selection Process | Timeline

Any faculty member teaching full-time during the current academic year is eligible for nomination. Both individual faculty members and teams of faculty members may be nominated.

Terms of Award:
The winning faculty member (or faculty team) will receive an award of $2000, plus an additional stipend of up to $1000 to offset costs related to the dissemination of the recipient’s scholarship. In addition to being recognized at the annual Ann Ferren Conference in January, the winner will be invited to present his or her work at a CTRL event.

Selection Process:
Nominations may be made by any member of the AU faculty. The selection panel will be composed of the Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Academic Affairs (or designee), the Executive Director of CTRL, and a previous winner of the award.


Nominations open: September 1, 2014
Final date to submit nominations: November 15, 2014
Announcement of winner: December 2014

2013 Award Winner: Teresa Larkin (CAS, Physics)

2012 Award Winner: Ivy Broder (CAS, Department of Economics)

The 2012 Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award was given to professor Ivy Broder (CAS, Department of Economics). Professor Broder was selected for designing an online curriculum for her course on Economics of World Regions. The course, which was created for students in the university's AU Abroad Program, incorporates students' first-hand experiences and research via an online discussion board.

2011 Award Winner: Derrick Cogburn

The 2011 Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award was given to Professor Derrick Coburn (School of International Service), because he integrates his study of cyber-learning and his teaching as integral parts of his curriculum design and implementation, while designing, implementing and evaluating cyber-learning for students with disabilities.