Skip to main content



Center for Teaching, Research & Learning
(202) 885-2117
Hurst Hall, Room 214

Mon. - Fri. 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Center for Teaching, Research & Learning
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016

Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award

CTRL’s Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award honors faculty who have demonstrated creativity in using technology in their teaching. The award is named for the founding director of the Center for Teaching Excellence (the precursor of CTRL), who was instrumental in encouraging AU faculty members to incorporate technological tools into their teaching practices.

Eligibility | Terms of Award | Selection Process | Timeline | Nomination Process

Any faculty member teaching full-time or part-time during the current academic year is eligible for nomination. Both individual faculty members and teams of faculty members may be nominated.

Terms of Award:
The winning faculty member (or faculty team) receives an award of $1000. In addition to being recognized at the annual Ann Ferren Conference in January, the winner will present a demonstration of his or her innovative teaching during the August CTRL Teaching, Research, and Technology Workshops.

Selection Process:
Nominations may be made by any member of the university community. Self-nominations are not eligible. A short list of nominees will be requested to provide a brief description of their activities involving use of technology in the classroom. The selection panel for the short list and for the winner will be composed of members from CTRL and a previous winner of the award.


Nominations open: January 1, 2017
Final date to submit nominations:
April 15, 2017
Announcement of winner: May 2017

Nomination Process:

Nominate a faculty member for the 2017 Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award.

Questions about the Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award? Please contact Anna Olsson at ext 6077. 


2016 Winners: Alexandra Mislin and Scott Talan

The 2016 Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award was split between Professors Alexandra Mislin (KSB, Department of Management) and Scott Talan (School of Communication). Alexandra Mislin was selected for her innovative use of video-conferencing technology to teach negotiations by simulating real world live Skype negotiations with students in Germany, and for her use of technology-enabled instant feedback in class. Scott Talan was selected for his multi-faceted and innovative use of technology tools to enhance his teaching. These include online discussion blogs, mobile polling technology for live feedback, the use of recorded audio feedback, and the use of social media to leverage student learning and engagement. 


2015 Winners: John Bracht and Sonya Grier

The 2015 Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award was split between Professors John Bracht (CAS, Department of Biology) and Sonya Grier (KSB, Department of Marketing). John Bracht was selected for his innovative and sophisticated use of advanced technologies in the classroom while teaching genomics. Using a flipped classroom model, Professor Bracht’s students spend the in-class time to work with ten different software packages, while using AU’s high-performance computing cluster, to assemble complete genome sequences. Sonya Grier was selected for her eclectic and innovative incorporation of technology in teaching. Most prominently, Professor Grier shoots and edits her own films about the topics she researches and teaches, making topics more accessible and engaging by adding an audiovisual element to traditional course readings.


2014 Winners: Deen Freelon and Brian Yates

The 2014 Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award was split between Professors Deen Freelon (School of Communication) and Brian Yates (CAS, Department of Psychology). Deen Freelon was recognized for his innovative technology-centered approach to teaching students how to use specialized software to analyze big social media datasets. Professor Freelon has developed his own research tool -- called ReCal (available to his students) -- and challenged students to develop their own automated text classification algorithms. Brian Yates was recognized for his career-long innovative use of technology in teaching. Some of the tools that Professor Yates was among the first to adopt at American University are: bringing the web into the classroom through internet-connected laptops; using learning management systems (such as Blackboard) to flip the classroom; creating eBooks to curate course reading lists; and the use of the iPad in teaching.


2013 Winners: Donna Dietz and Beverly Peters

The 2013 Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award was split between Professors Donna Dietz (CAS, Department of Mathematics and Statistics) and Beverly Peters (School of Professional and Extended Studies). Donna Dietz was selected because of her ingenuity in designing educational mobile apps. As a way of helping students put their digital devices to good use, wherever they happen to be, Professor Dietz created her own device-agnostic mobile app for students to use to study for her exams. Beverly Peters was selected for her use of a great variety of audio, visual, multi-media, and mobile device technology in both her online and face-to-face classes. Professor Peters also continues to serve as an exceptional resource for other faculty interested in teaching with technology.


2012 Winners: Jill Klein and Stef Woods

The 2012 Jack Child Teaching with Technology Award was split between Professors Jill Klein (KSB, Department of Information Technology) and Stef Woods (CAS, Department of Anthropology). Jill Klein was selected because of her creative use of a wide variety of web tools for student collaboration and mind-mapping. Stef Woods was selected because of her extensive integration of social media tools in her class, in combination with teaching her students internet safety.