Office of Finance and Treasurer News

Tobacco- and Smoke-Free AU

Tobacco- and Smoke-Free AU

AU is Proud to be Tobacco- and Smoke-Free

Learn more


  • VP Finance and Treasurer
    3201 New Mexico Ave., Room 280

    Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

Mailing Address
  • RSS
  • Print

Anita McBride Re-Appointed by President Obama to Fulbright Board

Anita McBride

Anita McBride, executive in residence at the School of Public Affairs

President Obama announced that Anita McBride, executive in residence at the School of Public Affairs, will be reappointed to the 12-person Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

"It is an incredible honor to serve our nation's largest exchange program," McBride said. "I look forward to continuing to promote the incredible impact of Fulbright participants around the world."

President Obama announced McBride's reappointment along with other key administration posts and said, "I am grateful that these impressive individuals have chosen to dedicate their talents to serving the American people at this important time for our country."

Sponsored by the Department of State, the Fulbright program has granted more than 325,000 awards and is active in more than 155 countries.

McBride was first appointed to the board in 2009, and she will be the longest-serving active member. She has served at the White House in various capacities across three administrations, including assistant to the president and chief of staff to First Lady Laura Bush from 2005 to 2009. She also served as senior advisor to the secretary and White House liaison at the Department of State from 2001 to 2003, and as senior advisor in the Bureau of International Organizations at the Department of State in 2004. From 1987 to 1992, she was director of White House Personnel under Presidents Ronald Reagan and George H. W. Bush.

McBride is a also member of the U.S. –Afghan Women's Council and serves on the boards of the White House Historical Association and the National Italian American Foundation. Earlier this year, she was awarded the Ellis Island Medal of Honor from the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations.