Profiles in Leadership


  • Office of Development and Alumni Relations
    Fax: 202-895-4998

Mailing Address

We are proud to recognize Alan H. Fleischmann '87 as American University's 2011 Cyrus A. Ansary Medal recipient for his extraordinary leadership in service, selfless efforts to nurture young leaders, and commitment to the global community. In the video above, leaders within the AU and global communities provide individual perspectives on leadership and its power to inspire learning and create positive change in the world. They honor Fleischmann, as a friend, colleague, and role model, through reflections on his leadership.

In addition to Fleischmann, the video features:

Neil Kerwin '71, president, American University

Madeleine K. Albright, the 64th Secretary of State of the United States

Sarah Irvine Belson, dean, School of Education, Teaching, and Health, College of Arts and Sciences, American University

Samantha Davis MPP '13, president, School of Public Affairs Graduate Council

James Goldgeier, dean, School of International Service, American University

Tim McBride '13, president, American University Student Government

Robert McNally '87, president, The Rapidan Group