Skip to main content

President's Circle

President's Circle

The President's Circle recognizes leadership in philanthropy demonstrated by American University alumni, parents, faculty, staff, and friends. Established in 1981, the President's Circle and its giving levels honor five U.S. presidents who were friends of American University. Benjamin Harrison signed the Act of Congress chartering the university in 1893. William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, and Herbert C. Hoover served on AU's Board of Trustees. John F. Kennedy delivered his famous speech, The Strategy of Peace, at the 1963 AU Commencement.


  • Benjamin Harrison Associates, $50,000 and above
  • William McKinley Associates, $25,000 $49,999
  • Theodore Roosevelt Associates, $10,000-$24,999
  • Herbert C. Hoover Associates, $5,000-$9,999
  • John F. Kennedy Associates, $2,500-$4,999


American University is deeply grateful for the financial commitment of our leadership donors. Their gifts enable the university to make the greatest impact on campus. In appreciation for their support, President's Circle members receive special recognition throughout the year.


Giving levels are determined by contributions during a given fiscal year (May 1 - April 30).

Donors whose cumulative giving totals $100,000 or more are recognized as Lifetime Members of the President's Circle.

Make A Gift Now

Class of 2016 Convocation

Give to AU