Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Educational Policy Committee

(Revised January 24, 2011; Revised Feb. 2, 2015 for changes in mechanism for student participation)
(Edited March 16, 2014 to reflect change from Kogod Council to Kogod School of Business Faculty Council as faculty governance body)


The authority of the Kogod School of Business’s Educational Policy Committee is derived from university governance expectations described in the American University Faculty Manual. Specifically, each academic unit should have at least one governance council (Kogod School of Business Faculty Council) and, as appropriate given the unit’s bylaws, form additional committees such as an educational policy committee, as outlined in the American University Faculty Manual, Section 5.b).


The Educational Policy Committee (EPC) is subordinate to the Faculty Council and is responsible for the thorough review and submission of recommendations with supporting rationale regarding all KSB educational policy matters. Faculty Council reserves the right to consider by itself, as a committee of the whole, without prior EPC review and recommendation, any educational policy matter it so votes to undertake in this manner.

Matters affecting graduate or undergraduate curricula related to a specific faculty department shall be first approved by the faculty of the department and then submitted by the department chairperson to EPC with a written rationale, supporting documentation, and a request for the action to be considered. This policy does not preclude an individual faculty member, academic program director, dean, or other professional staff member from sending to the EPC items that he or she wishes to be considered.

Examples of educational policy matters that the EPC may review and recommend to the KSB Council include:

  1. KSB degree programs (new, revisions, and termination proposals)
  2. Courses (new, revised, or terminated)
  3. General curriculum changes
  4. New or revised interdisciplinary programs with other AU academic units
  5. Continuous quality improvement or other forms of educational quality control


The Educational Policy Committee (EPC) will include both voting and non-voting members. The voting members are one representative from each department in the Kogod School of Business. The non-voting members are the Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Programs, and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs, or their designees. Working with the Dean’s Office, the EPC may solicit input from representatives of the undergraduate and graduate student body as required. The GBA and UBA Presidents will be kept informed of EPC meeting dates and provided with EPC materials that concern their programs. The GBA and UBA may send a representative to attend meetings of the EPC to provide input and counsel with respect to proposed EPC actions that affect their programs.

Faculty Representatives
Tenured and tenure-track faculty members are eligible to serve on the EPC. Each department will elect its representative. Each member of the EPC will serve a two-year term beginning on August 16th of the year elected and ending on August 15th of the second year. Departmental representatives may be re-elected.

At the first meeting following August 16th, members of the EPC will elect a faculty chairperson, who will serve in that capacity until August 15th of the following year. An individual faculty member may serve as EPC chair for a maximum of four consecutive years.