Expand AU Menu

Accounting and Finance Research Seminars

The Kogod Financial Economics and Accounting Seminar series is co-run for the 2013-2014 academic year by Michel Robe and Valentina Bruno (Finance), and Susan Krische (Accounting). 

To learn more about the research seminar series, please contact Michel Robe at mrobe@american.edu or Susan Krische at krische@american.edu.

Unless otherwise specified, American University-based seminars will be held on Thursday (Finance) or Friday (Accounting) in KSB 215 from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. For information on CFTC-based seminars, please contact Michel Robe on a case-by-case basis. 

To view the Economics brown-bag series, please click here.

Spring 2014 Schedule

Thursday, January 16 - Alessandro Rebucci, JHU (Finance)
"Capital Flows, House Prices, and the Macroeconomy: Evidence from Advanced and Emerging Market Economies"

Thursday, January 23 - Andrea Presbitero, IMF (Finance)
"Rationing Traps"

Friday, January 31 - Gopal Krishnan, American University (Accounting)
"Does equity-based compensation enhance or impair the effect of audit committees' accounting expertise on earnings quality?"
Please contact Prof. Krishnan (krishnan@american.edu) for a copy of this paper.

Thursday, February 20 - Doriana Ruffino, FED Board (Finance)
"A Robust Capital Asset Pricing Model"

Thursday, February 27 - Elena Loutskina, Darden (Finance)
"Exporting Liquidity: Branch Banking and Financial Integration"

Friday, February 28 - Jason Schloetzer, Georgetown (Accounting)
"The Influence of Management Control Practices on the Implementation of Corporate Lean Programs"

March 9-16 - Spring Break, no seminars

Friday, April 4 - Ole-Kristian Hope, Toronto (Accounting)
"Blockholder Exit Threats and Financial Reporting Quality"

Thursday, April 10 - Darren Kisgen, Boston (Finance)
"Did Government Regulations Lower Credit Rating Quality?"

Thursday, April 17 - Anna Obizhaeva, Maryland (Finance)

Fall 2013 Schedule

Friday, September 6 - Francesca Carrieri, McGill University (Finance)
"The Role of Segmentation and Investor Recognition Through the Lens of Cross-Listing Activity"

Wednesday, October 2 - Accounting Recruiting Seminar (from 10:45 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. in KSB 215)
Please contact Augustine Duru at aduru@american.edu for additional information about this recruiting seminar.

Friday, October 4 - Utpal Battacharya, Indiana University (Finance, starting at 2:30 p.m.)
"The Dark Side of ETFs and Index Funds"

October 11 - Fall Break, no seminars

Friday, October 18 - Accounting Recruiting Seminar (from 10:45 a.m. to 12:15 p.m., location TBD)
Please contact Augustine Duru at aduru@american.edu for additional information about this recruiting seminar.

Thursday, October 24 - Burton Hollifield, Carnegie Mellon (Finance)
"Disagreement, Speculation, and Aggregate Investment"

Thursday, November 7 - Mike Weisbach, Ohio State (Finance)
"Indirect Incentives of Hedge Fund Managers"

Thursday, November 21 - Andrew Karolyi, Cornell (Finance)
"Regulatory arbitrage and cross-border bank acquisitions"

Accounting Department

Faculty


Finance and Real Estate

Faculty