You are here: Meet the Professors

Shawn Bates Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Mr. Bates is an international lawyer, mediator, educator and trainer with over 15 years of experience in the international arena. He is currently Assistant Professor in the School of International Ser

  sbates@american.edu

  (202) 885-6169

Evan Berry Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Evan Berry is Associate Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Co-Director of the Ethics, Peace, and Global Affairs master's program. His research examines the relationship between religion and the

  berry@american.edu

  (202) 885-2493

Stefano Costanzi Associate Professor CAS - Chemistry

Dr. Costanzi's research interests mainly revolve around the application of computational techniques to the study of drug targets and the identification of molecules that modulate their activity. The m

  costanzi@american.edu

  (202) 885-1722

Kimberly Cowell-Meyers Assistant Professor SPA - Government

Kimberly Cowell-Meyers is Assistant Professor of Government. An AU alumna, she has taught at AU, St. Mary's College of Maryland and Christopher Newport University in Newport News, VA. She is the autho

  kcowell@american.edu

  (202) 885-6223

Caleen Jennings Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Caleen Sinnette Jennings is Professor of Theatre; since joining the faculty in 1989, she has directed for the main stage season and taught thirteen different courses in the theatre and general educati

  cjennin@american.edu

  (202) 885-3430

Jesse Meiller Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Environmental Science

Jesse Meiller is an marine ecologist and environmental toxicologist. Jesse received her PhD from the University of Maryland in the Marine, Estuarine, Environmental Sciences (MEES) program after doing

  meiller@american.edu

  (202) 885-1780

Sarah Menke-Fish Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Sarah Menke-Fish is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. She is a master teacher in the School of Communication. She serves as associate director for the Center for Environmental Filmmaking,

  smenke@american.edu

  (202) 885-2098

Renee Souris Professorial Lecturer SPA - Government

Renee Nicole Souris, Ph.D. received her doctorate in Justice, Law and Society with a second field in Political Theory from AU's School of Public Affairs in May 2014. Broadly speaking, her research exa

  souris@american.edu

  (202) 885-6551