Expand AU Menu

University Library Calendar

 

Early Fall 2013 Exhibitions: Green Acres and Patrick McDonough (Updated 10/11/13)

September 3 to October 20 (2013)

  • Export to my Calendar

 zoom in

September 3 – October 20, 2013
American University Museum
Admission is free

Green Acres: Artists Farming Fields, Greenhouses, and Abandoned Lots
The American University Museum brings this major exhibition of contemporary art addressing ecological issues to the Washington region from the Contemporary Arts Center in Cincinnati, Ohio. The show is in collaboration with the Arlington Arts Center, Arlington, Virginia, which is presenting its half of Green Acres June 28–Oct 13, 2013. Curated by Sue Spaid.

Patrick McDonough: brightveridiansentinelevents
The exhibition examines the relationship between sustainability and aesthetics, a timely and important topic in the face of climate change and increased interest in alternative energy and technologies. Utilizing our interior gallery space and outdoor sculpture garden, McDonough presents discrete objects, performance documentation, and solar powered appliance sculptures that blend wit and insight, playfulness and provocation.

Image credit: Patrick McDonough, 131906-hemcrete with spa towels, 2013. Hemcrete interior casts of four piece pot set, Spa Towels. Courtesy of the artist and G Fine Art.

Dates:
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Tue 09/03/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Wed 09/04/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Thu 09/05/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Fri 09/06/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sat 09/07/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sun 09/08/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Tue 09/10/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Wed 09/11/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Thu 09/12/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Fri 09/13/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sat 09/14/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sun 09/15/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Tue 09/17/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Wed 09/18/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Thu 09/19/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Fri 09/20/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sat 09/21/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sun 09/22/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Tue 09/24/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Wed 09/25/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Thu 09/26/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Fri 09/27/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sat 09/28/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sun 09/29/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Tue 10/01/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Wed 10/02/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Thu 10/03/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Fri 10/04/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sat 10/05/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sun 10/06/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Tue 10/08/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Wed 10/09/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Thu 10/10/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Fri 10/11/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sat 10/12/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sun 10/13/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Tue 10/15/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Wed 10/16/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Thu 10/17/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Fri 10/18/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sat 10/19/13
11:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sun 10/20/13
Type:
Exhibit
Host:
American University Museum at the Katzen Arts Center
Contact:
American University Museum
Send email to American University MuseumSend email to American University Museum
Telephone202-885-1300
Event Website:
http://www.american.edu/cas/museum/index.cfm