Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Blackboard Basics

How to Log Into Blackboard

Blackboard can be found on the portal. Click the Blackboard link and enter your username and password.

You can also login through Note: Blackboard requires a separate login, but the username and password should be the same as what you use to login to the portal.

Logging into Blackboard

  1. Open your Internet browser.
  2. In the address field type
  3. You will be prompted for your username and password (i.e. ac1047a or jdoe).
Contact the OIT Help Desk at (202) 885-2550 if you need help with passwords. Or you can request your password by clicking "forgot your password?" at
Back to top.

Hiding Your Old Courses 

To keep your Blackboard clear of your old courses, you can "hide" them rather than deleting the courses entirely, just in case you need something late.

To hide your old courses:

  1. Log into Blackboard and make sure you are in the "My Institution" tab.
  2. In the "My Courses" module, click on the small gear button in the upper right-hand corner. An "Edit Courses List" screen should appear.
  3. Find the course that you wish to hide, and UNCHECK the "Display Course Name" checkbox (the first box following the course name). You can uncheck more than one course if you wish.
  4. Click "Submit." The old course name will disappear from your "My Courses" list in your "My Institution" tab.
Back to top.

Sending Email through Blackboard

Users can access email functions for specific courses through the Send Email page. From this page users can send email to the following people in a course:

  • Fellow classmates

  • Instructors

  • Teaching Assistants

  • Groups within a course

Send Email allows users direct access to course participants and can also be accessed from the Tools box on the My Institution area.

Send an Email

  • Open a course that you are participating in.

  • Select Course Tools from the Control Panel menu and select Send Email

  • Choose which group of people you would like to email.

The following groups are available to send email to from the Send email page:

  • All Users: Sends email to all users in the course or organizations

  • All Groups: Sends email to all of the groups in a specified course or organization.

  • All Teaching Assistants: Sends email to all of the Teaching Assistants in a specified course.

  • All Instructors: Sends email to all of the instructors for a specified course.

  • Select Users: Sends email to a single user or select users in a specified course.Select Groups: Send email to a single group or select groups in a course

Once you have selected a group, type your email as would would normally and click Submit to send the email. You can also attach documents.

Note: When you send email in Blackboard, the system will send you a copy of the email, but it will not specify which individuals it was sent to (e.g. "Sent to SIS-000-001-2010F). If you would like to save a sent receipt that includes who the email was sent to, hit Print Screen when the sent confirmation appears, right after you hit Submit.

Back to top.

Blackboard 9

Click the link below to access AU's online course management system.


CTRL Training

Want to learn more about Blackboard 9? Come to one of our training sessions on campus. Check out training dates and sign-up on our training calendar.

The Blackboard Support Team is also conducting online webinars. Check back here for a list of dates and times that you can join us online.