Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

37th Annual Roger Jones Award Recipients Announced

WHO:   Karen O. Henneberger, program manager, Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program (Awardee)
Admiral John M. Richardson, director, Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program (Nominator)
David A. Lebryk, fiscal assistant secretary, U.S. Department of the Treasury (Awardee)
Richard L. Gregg, former fiscal assistant secretary, U.S. Department of the Treasury (Nominator)
Keynote: Shelley Metzenbaum, president The Volcker Alliance

WHAT: 37th Annual Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership

WHERE: American University, Katzen Arts Center Abramson Family Recital Hall, 4400 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington, DC.

WHEN: October 20, 7:00 pm –8:00 pm

American University's School of Public Affairs' Roger W. Jones Award for Execuitve Leadership ceremony will take place on October 20 and feature keynote speaker Shelley Metzenbaum, president of the Volker Alliance.

The Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership recognizes people who have devoted themselves to a life of public service. Two federal career executives who have demonstrated the values promoted by Roger W. Jones are recognized each year. 

The Roger W. Jones Selection Committee chaired by Mortimer Downey, chose Karen O. Henneberger, program manager, Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program, and David A. Lebryk, fiscal assistant secretary, U.S. Department of the Treasury, to receive the award for their outstanding service, dedication, leadership, and shaping the next generation of government leaders.

"It is an honor to have been chosen as a co-recipient of the Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership. I've had the good fortune to work with several previous recipients all of whom have displayed a strong commitment to improving the way government operates. It is a privilege to now be included in their company," shared David A. Lebryk.

"Considering the importance of a strong Senior Executive Service in successfully tackling our country's biggest challenge, it is encouraging to know that American University's School of Public Affairs invests in recognizing these leadership achievements. I am humbled to have been chosen as one of this year's Roger W. Jones Award winners in recognition of the accomplishments that our world class government and shipbuilder team have provided to our Nation," shared Karen O. Henneberger.

About the 2014 Roger W. Jones winners:

Karen O. Henneberger
began her career as a commissioned United States Naval officer. She spent her early career in the Nuclear Technology Division of the Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program working on technology development and fleet support programs in primary and secondary chemistry. In 1996, Henneberger was selected as the program manager for future aircraft carriers, responsible for initiating efforts in support of the propulsion plant design, component manufacture, construction, and testing of the Navy's next generation, nuclear powered USS Gerald R. Ford. In April 2010, she was asked to assume responsibility as program manager for the Ohio Replacement Submarine propulsion plant design, component manufacturing, construction, and testing.

David A. Lebryk is responsible for developing policy and overseeing operations of the financial infrastructure of the federal government in the areas of payments, collections, debt financing, accounting, delinquent debt collection, and shared services. Previously, Lebryk served as the first commissioner of the Bureau of the Fiscal Service. His responsibilities include during his distinguished career at the Department of Treasury have included leadership, policy direction, and guidance over essential payments, collections, reporting, and debt collection.

American University is a leader in global education, enrolling a diverse student body from throughout the United States and nearly 140 countries. Located in Washington, D.C., the university provides opportunities for academic excellence, public service, and internships in the nation’s capital and around the world.