Skip to main content

President's Video | Transcript

2014 Video Message - Athletics


Neil Kerwin: It's a good time to look back at the achievements of the past year.

Announcer: And the defensive muscle of American wins them the Patriot League championship, and the American Eagles are going to the NCAA Tournament.

Neil Kerwin: This was one of the most successful years in the history of American University intercollegiate athletics. Field hockey and volleyball both won Patriot League championships and won matches in the NCAA tournament. Men's basketball also won the Patriot League championship and went on to play in the NCAA Tournament in Milwaukee. 

Tony Wroblicky: I just want to thank all the AU fans. All the AU Blue Crew fans.

Neil Kerwin: Mike Brennan, the men's basketball coach, won Patriot League Coach of the Year. The women's basketball team won 22 games and received an invitation to the National Invitational Tournament. 

Megan Gebbia: The players were wonderful, and then for us, all the academic awards that we received this year on our team was just outstanding. I'm just really proud of them.

Neil Kerwin: Monika Smidova, Alexis Dobbs, and Jesse Reed each won the Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year in their respective sports.

Billy Walker: Our student-athletes are going to get a good education and a great Division I experience. They're students first, and that's what we're proud of. They do such a great job with academics, as well as performing like they have this year, which is phenomenal.