About Us

The General Education Program is the cornerstone of AU's undergraduate curriculum, and draws on the expertise of faculty and staff from throughout the university. The program is administered by the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies, with curricular oversight from the General Education Curriculum Committee, chaired by Cynthia Bair Van Dam.

General Education Committee

Jessica Waters Dean of Undergraduate Education & Vice Provost for Academic Student Services Provost, Office of the

Jessica Waters is the Dean for Undergraduate Education and a faculty member in the School of Public Affairs as well as an adjunct faculty member at the Washington College of Law. Her research focuses

  waters@american.edu

  (202) 885-2301

Cynthia Bair Van Dam Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Cindy Bair Van Dam is a compositionist who joined the Department of Literature faculty in 1995. In addition to teaching in the Writing Studies Program, Cindy is also the Chair of the General Education

  cbair@american.edu

  (202) 885-2983

Ellen Feder Professor and Department Chair, Philosophy and Religion CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Ellen K. Feder is the William Fraser McDowell Professor of Philosophy and Social Policy. She works at the intersection of contemporary continental philosophy and feminist and critical race theory, par

  efeder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2140

Mary Giandrea Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - History

Mary Frances Giandrea is the author of Episcopal Culture in Late Anglo-Saxon England, the first full-length study of the many roles, both secular and religious, of bishops in tenth and eleventh-centur

  giandrea@american.edu

  (202) 885-2170

Susan Glover Assistant Professor SPA - Government

Professor Glover teaches and does research in the field of comparative politics, with a concentration on Africa. Her past work has focused on democratic transition and consolidation in multi-ethnic st

  glover@american.edu

  (202) 885-2674

Lindsey Green-Simms Assistant Professor CAS - Literature

Lindsey Green-Simms’ teaching and research focuses on African and post-colonial film and literature. Her particular interests include globalization, technology, gender and sexuality studies, and Nolly

  lgs@american.edu

  (202) 885-2901

David Kearns Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Research interests:animal models of drug abuse and addiction treatment; the effects of drug cues on behavior; conditioning and learning; extinction; theories of learning; animal models of gambling.Rec

  kearns@american.edu

  (202) 885-1711

Teresa Larkin Associate Professor CAS - Physics

Teresa Larkin is an Associate Professor of Physics Education in the Department of Physics. She also serves as Director and Faculty Liaison to the Dual-degree Engineering Program.Dr. Larkin received he

  tlarkin@american.edu

  (202) 885-2766

Sarah Marvar Professorial Lecturer CAS - Biology

Dr Sarah Marvar is a renal physiologist and her research has focused on the role of the kidney in hypertension and the influence of oxidative free radicals in renal injury. Dr Marvar is currently work

  sknight@american.edu

  (202) 885-6538

Alexandra Mislin Associate Professor KSB - Management

Professor Mislin’s research focuses on how financial incentives as well as social factors including trust, social perceptions, emotions, and the tracking of obligations, influence behavior when people

  mislin@american.edu

  (202) 885-1919

Mirjana Morosini Instructor SIS-School of Intl Service

Mirjana Morosini is an historian of modern Europe. Her work focuses on comparative history of ethnic politics, ethnic conflict, and nationalism, borderland identities, cultural history, and the histor

  morosini@american.edu

  (202) 885-6827

William Quirk Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Quirk has research interests in German, English and French from Romanticism to the present. Within German he focuses on both the Age of Goethe and Modernism, with special emphasis given to Kleist,

  quirk@american.edu

  (202) 885-6769

Tom Ratekin Assistant Professor CAS - Literature

Professor Ratekin teaches courses in twentieth-century literature and film. His interests include modern British, American, and world literature, postmodernism, literary theory, consumer culture, psyc

  ratekin@american.edu

  (202) 885-2284

Jennifer Steele Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University, and an affiliate faculty member in the Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her research,

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762

Margot Susca Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Margot Susca (Ph.D., Florida State University) is a professorial lecturer in SOC's journalism division who also heads the weekend M.A. program in Journalism and Digital Storytelling. She teaches cours

  susca@american.edu

  (202) 885-3345

E. Andrew Taylor Associate Professor CAS - Performing Arts

E. Andrew Taylor is an Associate Professor in the Arts Management Program, and Chair of the Department of Performing Arts, exploring the intersection of arts, culture, and business. An author, lecture

  eataylor@american.edu

  (202) 885-1601

Jessica Uscinski Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Physics

Jessica Uscinski recently joined the Physics Department at American University as an Assistant Professor in Fall 2008. She received her PhD in Theoretical Physics from the University of Arizona in 200

  uscinski@american.edu

  (202) 885-3505