AU and University Honors | Staff and Contacts

Hurst Hall Photo
  1. General Contact Information
  2. Honors Staff
  3. Department Honors Coordinators

General Contact Information

The University Honors Program staff is ready to answer your questions, Monday-Friday, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

American University
University Honors Program
Hughes Hall, First Floor
4400 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20016-8119

Click Here for Customized Directions

Phone: (202) 885-6194
Fax: (202) 885-7013
E-mail: honors@american.edu
Web site: http://www.american.edu/honors

Honors Staff

Dr. Michael Manson

Program Director

mmanson@american.edu

Appointed in June 2011 as director of the University Honors Program, Dr. Michael Manson has been teaching in American University's Department of Literature and American Studies Program since 2001 and working for the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and for the Provost of the university for the past five years. His scholarly specialization is in American modernist poetry, but he also teaches classes in film. Born and raised in Dallas, he holds a B.A. in English from Rice University and an M.A. and Ph.D. in English from the University of Virginia. He has previously taught at higher educational institutions in Wisconsin and New England. Dr. Manson is the author of several articles concerning modernist poetry and poetic form, discussing Robert Frost, Sterling A. Brown, Jay Wright, Lorine Niedecker, Gary Soto, Robert Hass, and Emily Dickinson. He is co-editor of "The Calvinist Roots of the Modern Era" (UP New England, 1997). His book project is entitled "Body Language: Modern American Poetry and the Politics of Poetic Form," and he is contributing to the forthcoming edition of the "Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics." He has served as the president of the Robert Frost Society (2006-2007) and as the executive director of the Northeast Modern Language Association (1997-2000). In 2005, he organized a Symposium on Poetic Form for the American Literature Association. Dr. Manson and his wife Marianne Noble, who is an Associate Professor in the Department of Literature, have two young children, Geoffrey YongSoo Manson and Arden YeRin Manson.

 

Stephanie Ricardo

Staff Assistant

ricardo@american.edu

Stephanie graduated with a B.A. in International Studies and a minor in Biology from the University of Miami. While her studies ranged from US Foreign Policy and Global Health to the European Union, her B.A. thesis analyzed China's soft power role in Latin America. In addition to her academic work, she was previously the President of the Microbiology and Immunology Club, which aims in promoting interest and awareness in trending microbiological research and issues. Before her role as Staff Assistant in the University Honors Program, Stephanie also assisted the University College, AU Scholars, and Community-Based Research Scholars programs at AU.

Her previous experience includes interning with InterBolsa Securities' Miami-based office as finance support, aiding a non-profit organization with events and outreach, researching prospects for various internal business functions at the Corporate Executive Board (CEB), and assisting Quadel Consulting Corporation in the affordable housing industry.

During her spare time, Stephanie enjoys savoring the diverse ethnic cuisine throughout the DMV area. While she may spend most of her time in the city, she also revels in exploring the area's national parks and historic landmarks.



Nadeen Makhlouf

Senior Honors Counselor

honorsmakhlouf@american.edu

Nadeen graduated from the University of Maryland in College Park with a B.A. in Economics. At U.M.D., she worked as a peer advisor and ambassador for the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences. After graduating she continued working for the University as an academic advisor in the Economics Department. Nadeen is currently a doctoral student at AU studying public administration and policy with a social policy/international development focus. She is especially interested in international social policy.

Nadeen is a native of the D.C. metropolitan area and enjoys visiting our area’s sites and monuments. She also enjoys reading and learning about both American and World history.

 

Michael Youngborg

Honors Counselor

honorsyoungborg@american.edu

Mike recently graduated from St. Mary’s College of Maryland with a BA in history.  He was a member of the Nitze Scholars Program and graduated magna cum laude.Mike is currently pursuing his PhD at American University with a focus on peace movements in the United States during the early Cold War era and issues of gender and sexuality within those movements.  He is interested in teaching at the university level after completing his degree.  Mike enjoys live music and movies.

Department Honors Coordinators

Each department has at least one faculty member who is designated as the Department Honors Coordinator and may be of help in answering questions about Honors requirements in a given major. The Department Honors Coordinator is also an important part of the Honors Capstone approval process.

College of Arts and Sciences

  • American Studies: Prof. Tristan Cabello, Hamilton 302, x1837, cabello@american.edu
  • Anthropology: Prof. Brett Williams, Batelle-Tompkins T-54, x 1836, bwillia@american.edu
  • Art- Studio Arts/ Fine Arts: Prof. Andrew Holtin, Katzen Arts Center 218, x 3928, holtin@american.edu
  • Art - Art History: Prof. Kim Butler, Katzen Arts Center 225, x 1569, butler@american.edu
  • Art - Graphic Design: Prof. Yana Sakellion, Katzen Arts Center 220, x 1676, sakellio@american.edu
  • Audio Technology/Audio Production: Prof. William Brent, Kreeger T08, x 1488, brent@american.edu
  • Biology: Prof. Kathryn Walters-Conte, Hurst 10a, x3978, kwalt@american.edu
  • Chemistry/Biochemistry: Prof. James Girard, Beeghly 104, x 1791, jgirard@american.edu
  • Computer Science: Prof. Michael Black, McKinley 103, x 2011, mblack@american.edu
  • Economics: Prof. Mary Hansen, Kreeger 127, x 3793, mhansen@american.edu
  • Education: Prof. Anastasia Snelling, Gray 116, x 6278, stacey@american.edu
  • Environmental Science/Studies: Prof. Albert Cheh, Beeghly 304, x 1772, acheh@american.edu
  • Health Promotion: Prof. Anastasia Snelling, Gray 116, x 6278, stacey@american.edu
  • History: Prof. Peter Kuznick, Batelle-Tompkins 145, x 2408, kuznick@american.edu
  • Jewish Studies: Prof. Pamela Nadell, Batelle-Tompkins 139, x 2425, pnadell@american.edu
  • Literature: Prof. Jeffrey Middents, Battelle-Tompkins 221, x 2979, middents@american.edu
  • Mathematics/Applied Mathematics: Prof. Joshua Lansky, Gray 207, x 3687, lansky@american.edu
  • Mathematics and Economics: Prof. Mary Hansen, Kreeger 127, x 3793, mhansen@american.edu
  • Performing Arts: Prof. Karl Kippola, Katzen Arts Center 227, x 3464, kippola@american.edu
  • Philosophy and Religious Studies: Prof. Amy Oliver, Battelle-Tompkins 118, x 2140, aoliver@american.edu
  • Physics: Prof. Philip Johnson, Sports Center Annex 118, x2761, pjohnson@american.edu
  • Psychology: Prof. Jim Gray, Asbury 317, x 1716, jgray@american.edu
  • Sociology: Prof. Andrea Brenner, Battelle-Tompkins T-12, x 2578, brenner@american.edu
  • Public Health: Prof. Blake Bennett, Battelle-Tompkins - T39, x 6873, bbennett@american.edu
  • Statistics: Prof. Joshua Lansky, Gray 207, x 3687, lansky@american.edu
  • Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Prof. Lauren Weis, SCAN 160, x 2926, weis@american.edu
  • World Languages and Cultures: Prof. Brenda Werth, McCabe 202, x 1449, werth@american.edu

Kogod School of Business

  • Prof. Sally Fowler, Kogod 208, x 6676, sfowler@american.edu

School of Communication

  • Prof. Joe Graf, MGC 327A, x 2147, graf@american.edu

School of International Service

  • Last names A-F: Prof. Derrick Cogburn, SIS 245, x 2400, dcogburn@american.edu
  • Last names G-N: Prof. Christopher Rudolph, SIS 326, x 1686, crudolph@american.edu
  • Last names O-Z: Prof. Mirjana Morosini, EQB 204A, x 6827, morosini@american.edu

School of Public Affairs

  • Political Science/CLEG: Prof. Kimberly Cowell-Meyers, Ward 221, x 6223, kcowell@american.edu
  • Justice, Law, and Criminology: Prof. Robert Johnson, Ward 254, x 2951, robert.johnson@american.edu