Skip to main content

2014 Faculty Retreat


Office of the Provost
Fax: 202-885-2173
Leonard, Room Lower Level

Bass, Scott A.

Office of the Provost
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8061
2014 Faculty Retreat Logo

View Retreat Photos

Click here to view great photos from the 2014 Faculty Retreat!

2014 Faculty Retreat

October 10-11, 2014
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay
Cambridge, MD

AU Faculty are the heart and soul of the academy and the driving force of the institution. With this responsibility, faculty engagement in planning and implementing academic priorities and strategic goals is critical. The 2014 Faculty Retreat is a day-and-a-half off-campus event that brings the university-wide faculty together for this purpose.

This year’s theme, Exploring Key Challenges in Higher Education, will focus on the following five challenges in the context of AU’s Strategic Plan, our collective aspirations, and trends in the higher education landscape:

  • Developing a culture focused on inclusion and retention
  • Balancing liberal arts education with the development of applied skills
  • Creating learning opportunities matched to the learning styles of the Internet generation
  • Developing administrative mechanisms supportive of faculty collaboration across academic units
  • Providing a setting that assists faculty in carrying out high impact research

Additionally, we will learn about how the AU 2030 initiative is addressing several of these challenges through cross-unit faculty collaboration and team-based research that designed to respond to address the great issues of our time and attract future scholars and students.

Planning Committee

  • James Goldgeier Co-chair, SIS
  • Nancy Davenport, Co-chair, LIB
  • Anna Amirkhanyan, SPA
  • Melissa Becher, LIB
  • Jonathan Fox, SIS
  • Sonya Grier, KSB
  • Phil Jacoby, KSB
  • Leena Jayaswal, SOC
  • Billie Jo Kaufman, WCL
  • Evan Kraft, CAS
  • Stefan Kramer, LIB
  • Andrew Lih, SOC
  • Eleftherios Michael,SPExS
  • Mark Niles, WCL
  • Mohammed Nimer, SPExS
  • Tony Quainton, SIS
  • Ximena Varela, CAS
  • Jessica Waters, SPA
  • Denise Wilkerson, Provost Office