Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

SIS Graduate Advising

Located in SIS 250, SIS Graduate Academic Advising is here to help you make the most of your SIS experience by providing information, answering questions, and making referrals to School and University partners dedicated to your academic and professional success.

Students are assigned to advisors by academic program as outlined below.

SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT (THURS, OCT 26 -END OF FALL SEMESTER)

Appointments are 30 minutes in length to allow for in-depth advising conversations, including long-term course/degree planning, and can take place in-person or via phone or Skype.

New students for spring 2018 may schedule an appointment beginning November 1.

MIS and SE students (both online and on-campus) can book an appointment with advisor, Amy Newell, resuming Monday, October 30th.

ADVISORS

PLEASE NOTE: Per recent announcements, Melanie Brisse has joined the Graduate Advising team and is advising CRS and USFP/USFS students.

Per recent announcements, Amy Newell is now advising all SE students (on-campus and online). SE students can schedule an appointment with Amy here.

Marley Crutcher

Director of Graduate Advising
202-885-1733
crutcher@american.edu
Natural Resources & Sustainable Development

Mike Rosenberger

Assistant Director of Graduate Advising
202-885-2519
rosenber@american.edu
PhD, Global Governance, Politics and Security

Mary Barton

202-885-1607
mbarton@american.edu
International Development, Development Management, Ethics, Peace and Global Affairs

Melanie Brisse

202-885-1659
mbrisse@american.edu
Comparative and Regional Studies, United States Foreign Policy and National Security

Morgan Doerge

202-885-1649
doerge@american.edu
Global Environmental Policy, International Economic Relations, International Economics, JD/MA

Jessica MacArthur

202-885-1645
jmacarth@american.edu
International Peace and Conflict Resolution, Intercultural and International Communication, International Media/Global Media

Amy Newell

202-885-6522
newell@american.edu
Master of International Service (MIS), including Executive (Online and On-campus) and International Studies (On-campus) tracks; Social Enterprise (SE) (Online and On-campus)

Book an appointment with Amy

Book an express advising meeting with Amy

Colleen Brauer

202-885-6815
brauer@american.edu
MAIR Online (International Relations Online)

Julia Zeigler

202-885-6981
zeigler@american.edu
MAIR Online (International Relations Online)

Navigating Your Graduate School Experience

Document: Navigating Your Grad School Experience

Download Now (PDF)