Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Economics Placement Exam

Economics Placement Exam

Economics Placement Exam Registration

Students wishing to take the SIS economics placement exam to waive the ECON-603 prerequisite to register for SIS-616 International Economics, SIS-620 Intro. to Environmental Economics, SIS-635 Intro. to Economic Development/ECON-661 Survey of Economic Development, or other economics courses may now register for the next available exam in May. Some MA programs may allow students to waive ECON-603 based on other criteria, so students should check with their academic advisor if they have any questions about whether they should take the exam.

The online economics placement exam is offered live and is proctored (students must be on webcam during the test administration). The exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions that cover both microeconomic and macroeconomic principles. Students have 90 minutes to complete the exam. Students may only take the examination once as an SIS graduate student. A passing score is a 74%. 

The exam will be held the following times for the spring 2017 semester:

Thursday, February 9: 5:30-7:00pm EST

Friday, February 10: 9:30-11:00am EST

Saturday, February 11: 10:00-11:30am EST

Registration Deadline: Thursday, February 2

Thursday, March 23: 5:30-7:00pm EST

Friday, March 24: 9:30-11:00am EST

Saturday, March 25: 10:00-11:30am EST

Registration Deadline: Thursday, March 16

Thursday, April 27: 5:30-7:00pm EST (On-Campus Students Only)

Friday, April 28: 9:30-11:00am EST (On-Campus Students Only)

Saturday, April 29: 10:00-11:30am EST (On-Campus Students Only)

Registration Deadline: Thursday, April 20

Thursday, May 25: 5:30-7:00pm EST (On-Campus Students Only)

Friday, May 26: 9:30-11:00am EST (On-Campus Students Only)

Saturday, May 27: 10:00-11:30am EST (On-Campus Students Only)

Registration Deadline: Thursday, May 18

 

The exam will be held the following times for the Summer 2017 Semester:

Thursday, June 8: 5:30-7:00pm EST

Friday June 9: 9:30-11:00am EST

Saturday June 10: 10:00-11:30am EST

Registration Deadline: Thursday, June 1

Thursday July 13: 5:30-7:00pm EST

Friday July 14: 9:30-11:00am EST

Saturday July 15: 10:00-11:30am EST

Registration Deadline: Thursday, July 6

 

The exam will be held the following times for the Fall 2017 Semester:

Thursday October 12: 5:30-7:00pm EST

Friday October 13: 9:30-11:00am EST

Saturday October 14: 10:00-11:30am EST

Registration Deadline: Friday, October 6th

Thursday November 16: 5:30-7:00pm

Friday November 17: 9:30-11:00am

Saturday November 18: 10:00-11:30am

Registration Deadline: Friday, November 10th

Please click here to register for the exam. After registering, you will receive information about how to access the online testing space.