Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu


Faculty and PhD candidate receive accolades at leading international studies conference

By Anne Deekens

Professor Robin Broad received the J. Ann Tickner award at the ISA 2016 annual convention.

Professor Robin Broad (center) received the J. Ann Tickner award at the ISA 2016 annual convention. Pictured with Professor Broad are J. Ann Tickner, Distinguished Scholar in Residence at SIS, and Paul Diehl, ISA President 2015-2016.

Congratulations to the School of International Service (SIS) faculty and a PhD candidate on receiving numerous accolades for their transformational research at the International Studies Association’s 57th Annual Convention in Atlanta, Ga., from March 16-19.

The International Studies Association (ISA) promotes research and education in international affairs. With more than six thousand members worldwide, ISA is a highly respected and widely known scholarly association in the international affairs field.

Three SIS faculty members and one PhD candidate received awards at the conference:

Amitav Acharya: ISA Global South Caucus Distinguished Scholar Award
A long-time contributor to ISA’s Global South Caucus, Professor Amitav Acharya received the 2016 Distinguished Scholar Award in recognition of his exceptional and sustained contribution to global south international studies, as reflected both in his published works and policy contributions.

Robin Broad: J. Ann Tickner Award
Professor Robin Broad received the J. Ann Tickner Award for her high-quality and groundbreaking scholarship and commitment to teaching and mentoring. ISA recognized her leadership as one of the first international affairs scholars to infuse scholarship and policy thinking on development with environmental considerations, both in general and with regard to marginalized populations in developing countries. The award is named in honor of Professor J. Ann Tickner, who is a Distinguished Scholar in Residence at SIS.

Sikina Jinnah: Harold and Margaret Sprout Award
The Harold and Margaret Sprout Award is bestowed annually for a book that contributes to theory and interdisciplinarity, shows rigor and coherence in research and writing, and is accessible and practically relevant. Professor Sikina Jinnah received this award for her book Post-Treaty Politics, which examines the role of international bureaucracies in managing the politics of overlapping international regimes in the areas of biodiversity, climate change, and international trade.

Tim Seidel: Graduate Paper Award from the Global Development Studies (GDS) Section
SIS PhD student Tim Seidel received the Graduate Paper Award from the Global Development Section (GDS) of ISA, for his paper “‘Occupied Territory Is Occupied Territory’: James Baldwin, Palestine, and the Possibilities of Transnational Solidarity.” Included in this award is a future publication of Seidel’s paper in Third World Quarterly.

Congratulations as well to Professor Boaz Atzili and PhD student Anne Kantel, who received the A. LeRoy Bennett Award for the article “Accepting the Unacceptable: Lessons from West Germany’s Changing Border Policies” at the ISA Northeast Conference in November.

Learn more about faculty research by contacting the International Affairs Research Institute at