Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Development Studies

Core Faculty:  Adam Auerbach (chair), Robin Broad, Lauren Carruth, Daniel Esser, Jonathan Fox, Louis Goodman, Rachel Robinson, Vidyamali Samarasinghe, Susan Shepler

Courses required for the PhD concentration:

  • SIS- 637 International Development
  • SIS-636 Micropolitics of Development
  • At least one Elective in the area of the student's research focus (decision based on discussion with chair).

Click here for field comprehensive exam reading list


Contact Kasey Neil Petri, the PhD Program Coordinator, at 202-885-6582 or

We encourage prospective candidates to visit the University to meet faculty members and current PhD students. To arrange a visit, contact Graduate Admissions at 202-885-1646 or