Expand AU Menu

The Campaign for SOC

Dean's Council

The SOC Dean's Council serves as the principal external volunteer board of the School of Communication at American University. Composed of leading alumni, parents, and friends of the University and a current SOC student, the SOC Dean's Council provides a high level national resource network from the business, government and non-profit communities. Council members serve as ambassadors of AU to build broad-based support for the School's initiatives, partnerships, Centers and academic programs, and to elevate the visibility of the School, nationally and internationally.

Jeff Rutenbeck
Dean, School of Communication, American University

Patrick H. Butler, MA/SOC ’96, Chair
President and CEO, Association of Public Television Stations,
Vice Chair, American University Board of Trustees

Laird B. Anderson, MA/SOC ’73
Professor Emeritus, School of Communication 

Jim M. Brady, BA/SOC '89
Editor-In-Chief, Digital First Media

Rhonda J. Brown, BA/SOC ’76
CEO/Founder, Greystone Advisors, LLC & ShopBitch, Inc.

Alisyn Camerota, BA/SOC ’88

Lorraine Cichowski, MA/SOC ’76
Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Associated Press

Jennifer Collins, BA/SOC ’96
Event Planning Group, LLC

David R. Drobis, MA/SOC ’65
Chairman Emeritus, Ketchum, Inc., Member, American University Board of Trustees

Carey M. Earle, BA/SOC ’88
Director, Market Development, National Life Group

Keith G. Fleer, BA/SPA ’64, JD/WCL ’67
Owner and Entertainment Lawyer, Keith G. Fleer Professional Corporation  

Darryl B. Frank, BA/SOC ’91
Co-Head, DreamWorks Television

Erin M. Fuller BA/SPA '93, MPA/SPA '98
President, Coulter

Barry J. Josephson, BA/SPA ’78
President, Josephson Entertainment  

Michael W. Kempner, BA/SPA ’81
President and Chief Executive Officer, The MWW Group  

Barry L. Levinson, ND/SOC ’67
Writer, Director, and Producer, Baltimore Pictures

James E. Middleton, BA/SOC '84
Motion Picture Producer

Joy Thomas Moore, BA/SOC ’72, MA/SOC ’73
President and CEO, JWS Media Consulting  

Mitchell H. Nedick, BA/SPA ’73
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, The CW Television Network

Anthony D. Perkins, BA/SOC ’81
Anchor, Fox 5 Morning News, Fox Television Stations, Inc.

William L. Reihl, BA/SOC ’94
Managing Director, Global Brand Marketing Practice, Ketchum, Inc.

Steven M. Saferin, BA/SOC ’70
President, Scientific Games' Properties Group, Chief Creative Officer, Scientific Games Ventures

Diane Sutter, MS/SOC '74
Trustee, KFWB Asset Trust, President/CEO ShootingStar Broadcasting

Amy Weiss, BA/SOC '87
Chief Executive Officer, WEISS Public Affairs

Susan W. Zirinsky, BA/SOC ’74
Senior Executive Producer, CBS News and 48 Hours

The Campaign for SOC

The restoration of the McKinley Building has created modern classrooms & spaces for public forums & exhibitions.

Watch the Campaign Video