Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

School of Communication Faculty

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

A

Christopher Albert

Christopher Albert

,

Christopher Albert is an adjunct professor of Public Communication.

Patricia Aufderheide

Patricia Aufderheide

,

paufder@american.edu | 202-885-2069
SOC - School of Communication

B

Dario Bernardini

Dario Bernardini

,

Dario Bernardini has taught courses in public relations as well as public, corporate and interperson... [More]

dariob@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Randall Blair

Randall Blair

,

rblair@american.edu | 202-885-2044
SOC - School of Communication
Emily Blout

Emily Blout

,

blout@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Caty Borum Chattoo

Caty Borum Chattoo

,

chattoo@american.edu | 202-885-6485
SOC - School of Communication
Kyle Brannon

Kyle Brannon

,

kbrannon@american.edu | 202-885-2162
SOC - School of Communication
Lisa Bream

Lisa Bream

,

lhbream@american.edu | 202-885-2047
SOC - School of Communication
Carolyn Brown

Carolyn Brown

,

cbrown@american.edu | 202-885-2072
SOC - School of Communication
Terence Bryant

Terence Bryant

,

bryant@american.edu | 202-885-6932
SOC - School of Communication

C

W. Joseph Campbell

W. Joseph Campbell

,

wjc@american.edu | 202-885-2071
SOC - School of Communication
Curtis Carey

Curtis Carey

,

Dr. Curtis Carey is an adjunct professor of Public Communication. As a national press officer in Was... [More]

Angie Chuang

Angie Chuang

,

chuang@american.edu | 202-885-2151
SOC - School of Communication
Nicholas Clooney

Nicholas Clooney

,

clooney@american.edu | 202-885-2022
SOC - School of Communication
Lindsey Cook

Lindsey Cook

,

Lindsey is a coder journalist with a passion for creating user-centered experiences, beautiful data ... [More]

D

Thomas Davidson

Thomas Davidson

,

tdavidso@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Laura DeNardis

Laura DeNardis

,

denardis@american.edu | 202-885-2675
SOC - School of Communication
Aditi Desai

Aditi Desai

,

adesai@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Priya Doshi

Priya Doshi

,

doshi@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
John Douglass

John Douglass

,

jdougla@american.edu | 202-885-2045
SOC - School of Communication

E

Windsor Edwards

Windsor Edwards

,

Windsor Johnston-Edwards is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

Ronald Elving

Ronald Elving

,

elving@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Larry Engel

Larry Engel

,

engel@american.edu | 202-885-2688
SOC - School of Communication
Joseph Erba

Joseph Erba

,

joseph.erba@american.edu | 202-885-6680
SOC - School of Communication

F

Jeffrey Finn

Jeffrey Finn

,

jfinn@american.edu | 202-885-2116
SOC
Kathy Fitzpatrick

Kathy Fitzpatrick

,

kfitzpat@american.edu | 202-885-2017
SOC - School of Communication
Deen Freelon

Deen Freelon

,

freelon@american.edu | 202-885-6462
SOC - School of Communication
Sam Fulwood

Sam Fulwood

,

Sam Fulwood is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

G

Patrick Gavin

Patrick Gavin

,

Patrick Gavin has covered politics in Washington for a decade, beginning at the Brookings Institutio... [More]

William Gentile

William Gentile

,

gentile@american.edu | 202-885-2663
SOC - School of Communication
Matt Glassman

Matt Glassman

,

Matt Glassman (SOC '92) is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He serves as Assistant News Director ... [More]

Lindsay Grace

Lindsay Grace

,

grace@american.edu | 202-885-6933
SOC - School of Communication
Joseph Graf

Joseph Graf

,

graf@american.edu | 202-885-2147
SOC - School of Communication
Gary Griffin

Gary Griffin

,

ggriffin@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Jack Gruber

Jack Gruber

,

Staff Photographer at USA TODAY

H

Nicole Haddock

Nicole Haddock

,

Nicole Haddock is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

Jane Hall

Jane Hall

,

jhall@american.edu | 202-885-2024
SOC - School of Communication
Darrell Hayes

Darrell Hayes

,

hayesd7@american.edu | 202-885-2667
SOC - School of Communication
Jeffrey Heibein

Jeffrey Heibein

,

Jeffrey Heibein is an Adjunct Instructor of Film and Media Arts.

Bagus Himawan

Bagus Himawan

,

iwan@american.edu | 202-885-2152
SOC - School of Communication
Corinne Hoare

Corinne Hoare

,

corinneh@american.edu | 202-885-6683
SOC - School of Communication
Robert Hone

Robert Hone

,

hone@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication

I

Maria Ivancin

Maria Ivancin

,

ivancin@american.edu | 202-885-2780
SOC - School of Communication

J

Leena Jayaswal

Leena Jayaswal

,

ljayasw@american.edu | 202-885-2662
SOC - School of Communication
David Johnson

David Johnson

,

davidj@american.edu | 202-885-2116
SOC - School of Communication

K

Anya Karavanov

Anya Karavanov

,

karavano@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Bob Kemper

Bob Kemper

,

Bob Kemper is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

Beverly Kirk

Beverly Kirk

,

kirk@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Larry Kirkman

Larry Kirkman

,

larry@american.edu | 202-885-6931
SOC - School of Communication
Andrea Koslow

Andrea Koslow

,

Andrea Koslow is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

Priya Krishna

Priya Krishna

,

Priya Krishna is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

Pallavi Kumar

Pallavi Kumar

,

kumar@american.edu | 202-885-2047
SOC - School of Communication

L

Christine Lawrence

Christine Lawrence

,

claw@american.edu | 202-885-2062
SOC - School of Communication
Charles R. Lewis

Charles R. Lewis

,

charlesl@american.edu | 202-885-1997
SOC - School of Communication
Andrew Lih

Andrew Lih

,

lih@american.edu | 202-885-2780
SOC - School of Communication
Kimberly Llerena

Kimberly Llerena

,

llerena@american.edu | 202-885-2073
SOC - School of Communication
Amanda Lucidon

Amanda Lucidon

,

Amanda Lucidon is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

M

Edwin Mah

Edwin Mah

,

Edwin Mah is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. He is an MFA candidate in film and electro... [More]

Brigid Maher

Brigid Maher

,

bmaher@american.edu | 202-885-2664
SOC - School of Communication
Katye Martens

Katye Martens

,

Katye Martens is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

Dina Martinez

Dina Martinez

,

dmartine@american.edu | 202-885-6464
SOC - School of Communication
Kathleen McCleary

Kathleen McCleary

,

Kathleen McCleary is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

Michael McCluskey

Michael McCluskey

,

mccluske@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Mark McDonald

Mark McDonald

,

mmdonald@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Pilar McKay

Pilar McKay

,

pmckay@american.edu | 202-885-6681
SOC - School of Communication
Matthew McNevin

Matthew McNevin

,

Matthew McNevin is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

Wendy Melillo Farrill

Wendy Melillo Farrill

,

melillo@american.edu | 202-885-1753
SOC - School of Communication
Ted Mellnik

Ted Mellnik

,

704-301-3977

tmellnik@american.edu | 704-301-3977
SOC - School of Communication
Ericka Menchen-Trevino

Ericka Menchen-Trevino

,

menchent@american.edu | 202-885-2065
SOC - School of Communication
Sarah Menke-Fish

Sarah Menke-Fish

,

smenke@american.edu | 202-885-2098
SOC - School of Communication
Robert Mitchell

Robert Mitchell

,

rmitchel@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Kathryn Montgomery

Kathryn Montgomery

,

kcm@american.edu | 202-885-2680
SOC - School of Communication
Frank Morrison

Frank Morrison

,

Frank Morrison is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

Claudia Myers

Claudia Myers

,

myers@american.edu | 202-885-2152
SOC - School of Communication

N

Susan Norton

Susan Norton

,

snorton@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication

O

Molly O'Rourke

Molly O'Rourke

,

morourke@american.edu | 202-885-2968
SOC - School of Communication
Jill Olmsted

Jill Olmsted

,

jolmste@american.edu | 202-885-2010
SOC - School of Communication
Ronne Ostby-Malling

Ronne Ostby-Malling

,

Ronne Ostby-Malling is an adjunct professor of Public Communication.

Paul Overberg

Paul Overberg

,

overberg@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication

P

Dara Padwo-Audick

Dara Padwo-Audick

,

padwoaud@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Christopher Palmer

Christopher Palmer

,

palmer@american.edu | 202-885-3408
SOC - School of Communication
Christie Parell

Christie Parell

,

parell@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Howard Parnell

Howard Parnell

,

Howard Parnell is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

Jeremiah Patterson

Jeremiah Patterson

,

jnpatter@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Richard Paul

Richard Paul

,

Summer Instruction

Andrew Pergam

Andrew Pergam

,

pergam@american.edu | 202-885-8100
SOC - J-Lab
Lynne Perri

Lynne Perri

,

lynne.perri@american.edu | 202-885-6380
SOC - School of Communication
Tony Perriello

Tony Perriello

,

Tony Perriello is an adjunct professor of communication. He is also a lawyer and a journalist. Since... [More]

Tatiana Petrone

Tatiana Petrone

,

Tatiana Petrone is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

Laura Pohl

Laura Pohl

,

Laura Pohl is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

Gemma Puglisi

Gemma Puglisi

,

puglisi@american.edu | 202-885-2153
SOC - School of Communication

R

Rania Razek

Rania Razek

,

Rania Razek is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

Richard Reeve

Richard Reeve

,

Richard Reeve is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

Ding Ren

Ding Ren

,

Ding Ren is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

ren@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Rose Ann Robertson

Rose Ann Robertson

,

rrobert@american.edu | 202-885-2002
SOC - School of Communication
Rick Rockwell

Rick Rockwell

,

rockwell@american.edu | 202-885-2067
SOC - School of Communication
Kendra Rubinfeld

Kendra Rubinfeld

,

Kendra Rubinfeld is the Co-Principal and Founder of KRPR, a boutique PR and Marketing firm serving c... [More]

Jeffrey Rutenbeck

Jeffrey Rutenbeck

,

jeff@american.edu | 202-885-2058
SOC - School of Communication

S

Maureen Santini

Maureen Santini

,

Maureen Santini is an adjunct professor of Public Communication.

Alison Schafer

Alison Schafer

,

aschafer@american.edu | 202-885-2066
SOC - School of Communication
Janice Schaffer

Janice Schaffer

,

schaffer@american.edu | 202-885-8100
SOC - J-Lab
Christopher Simpson

Christopher Simpson

,

simpson@american.edu | 202-885-2037
SOC - School of Communication
Aram Sinnreich

Aram Sinnreich

,

aram@american.edu | 202-885-6518
SOC - School of Communication
Greg Smith

Greg Smith

,

Greg Smith is a professor in AU’s School of Communication. He has also worked at Lucasfilm, NPR and ... [More]

gregs@american.edu | 3013254521
CAS - Performing Arts
Richard Stack

Richard Stack

,

rstack@american.edu | 202-885-2856
SOC - School of Communication
William Stebbins

William Stebbins

,

William Stebbins is an adjunct professor of Journalism.

Leonard Steinhorn

Leonard Steinhorn

,

lsteinh@american.edu | 202-885-2031
SOC - School of Communication
Noah Stern

Noah Stern

,

Noah Stern is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

Margaret Stogner

Margaret Stogner

,

stogner@american.edu | 202-885-2160
SOC - School of Communication
Benjamin Stokes

Benjamin Stokes

,

bstokes@american.edu | 202-885-2066
SOC - School of Communication
Rodger Streitmatter

Rodger Streitmatter

,

rstreit@american.edu | 202-885-2057
SOC - School of Communication
Junbin Su

Junbin Su

,

Adjunct Faculty, School of Communication, American University Associate Professor, School of Journal... [More]

John Sullivan

John Sullivan

,

jsulliva@american.edu | 202-885-2075
SOC - School of Communication
Margot Susca

Margot Susca

,

susca@american.edu | 202-885-3345
SOC - School of Communication

T

Scott Talan

Scott Talan

,

talan@american.edu | 202-885-6461
SOC - School of Communication
Donald Tighe

Donald Tighe

,

donaldau@american.edu
SOC - School of Communication
Jacqueline Titus

Jacqueline Titus

,

Jacqueline Titus is an adjunct professor of Public Communication.

Filippo Trevisan

Filippo Trevisan

,

trevisan@american.edu | 202-885-6930
SOC - School of Communication

U

Maura Ugarte

Maura Ugarte

,

maura.ugarte@american.edu | 202-885-3472
University Library

V

W

Xiao Wang

Xiao Wang

,

Xiao Wang is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts.

John Watson

John Watson

,

jwatson@american.edu | 202-885-2083
SOC - School of Communication
Paula Weissman

Paula Weissman

,

paulaw@american.edu | 202-885-6597
SOC - School of Communication
Russell Williams

Russell Williams

,

rwill@american.edu | 202-885-2115
SOC - School of Communication

Y

Z

Rhonda Zaharna

Rhonda Zaharna

,

zaharna@american.edu | 202-885-3995
SOC - School of Communication
Chryssa Zizos

Chryssa Zizos

,

Chryssa Zizos is an adjunct professor of Public Communication.