Christopher Adams Adjunct Instructor

Chris Adams is director of training at the National Press Foundation, a Washington-based nonprofit that runs fellowships for working journalists. He joined the foundation in 2015 after 25 years as an

  adams@american.edu

Matt Glassman Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Matt Glassman (SOC '92) is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He serves as Assistant News Director for NBC4 News, NBC's owned station in Washington, DC. Matt joined News4 as an Assignment Editor in J

  glassman@american.edu

Whitney Harris Adjunct Instructor

Whitney Harris is an adjunct professor of video journalism at American University. She’s an award-winning media professional with expertise shooting, writing, editing, reporting, and producing broadca

  wharris@american.edu

Douglas Hecox Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Doug Hecox is an adjunct professor of Journalism. From his work in Congress, the U.S. Departments of Justice, Transportation and the Treasury, and years of writing books, speeches, newspaper columns,

  dhecox@american.edu

Christine Lawrence Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Christine C. Lawrence is a full-time professor of Journalism. She brings her experience covering politics and government to the SOC journalism division having worked for 10 years as a senior editor an

  claw@american.edu

  (202) 885-2062

Donald Markus Adjunct Instructor

Don Markus is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He has been teaching in the SOC for the past seven years. A sportswriter for the Baltimore Sun since 1985, Markus has taught Sports Journalism since 2

  markus@american.edu

Vandana Mathur Sr Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Vandana Mathur is an adjunct professor of Journalism. An alumni of American University's School of Communications, she has  been a journalist in the Washington, D.C., area for more than 20 years. She

  vmathur@american.edu

Mark McDonald Adjunct Instructor SOC - School of Communication

Mark is the Broadcast Journalist in Residence in the School of Communication, where for seven years he has taught reporting, management and multi-media skills to undergraduates and graduate students.

  mmdonald@american.edu

Steve Piacente Adjunct Associate Professor

Steve Piacente, an adjunct professor of Journalism, is a media and presentation trainer at The Communication Center in Washington, D.C., and the owner of Next Phase Life Coaching. Previously, he serve

  stevep@american.edu

Robert Roberts Adjunct Instructor

Rob Roberts is the Director of Digital Strategy for the U.S. Department of Energy. Prior to joining Energy, Rob worked in a number of digital roles throughout government, academia and journalism, incl

  robertr@american.edu

Andrew Tran Adjunct Instructor

Andrew Ba Tran is an investigative data reporter for the Washington Post. Tran previously was a data editor at The Connecticut Mirror's TrendCT.org, Prior to that, he was a data producer at The Bost

  tran@american.edu

Kathleen Tremmel Adjunct Instructor

Kathy Tremmel began her educational journey later in life, getting her AA at Iowa Western Community College in 2003. She was the Public Relations Officer of Phi Theta Kappa and also on the USA Today A

  tremmel@american.edu

Christopher Young Adjunct Instructor University Center and Student Activities

Chris Young advises student media and arts groups as a member of American University’s Student Activities staff. He joined the university in October 2016 after spending nearly 10 years as a journalist

  cyoung@american.edu