Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu


Four SOC Undergraduate Students Receive Honors Award

By Yan Shi

Honors Graduation Awards

Four School of Communication (SOC) undergraduate students will be honored and recognized at the annual Honors and Scholars Award Ceremony. 

Shannon Scovel, a broadcast journalism major, and Daniella Sklarz, a film and media arts major, will receive the Outstanding Senior award. Lauren Beeslee, a communication studies major, will receive the Outstanding Junior award. Meredith Bartle, a film and media arts major, will receive the Outstanding Leadership in the AU Community award. 

Outstanding Sophomore, Junior and Senior awards are given to students who showcase their passion in their studies by pursuing extracurriculars and challenging coursework that reflect not only growth in their expertise but broad interests. 

The Outstanding Leadership in AU Community is a highly selective award that recognizes Honors and Scholars students who have served the AU community with distinction while maintaining a record of high achievement. 

Honors and Scholars students can be nominated by other students, faculty or staff. Students can also self-nominate themselves for an award. 

The ceremony was held in Palmer-Kettler Lounge from 5-5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 1st.