Expand AU Menu

Center for Democracy & Election Management


  • Center for Democracy & Election Management
    (202) 885-1527
    Fax: (202) 885-1366

Mailing Address

Carter-Baker Commission: Academic Advisors

  • Robert A. Pastor, Director, Center for Democracy and Election Management, American University
  • Alan Abramowitz, Professor of Political Science, Emory University
  • Michael Alvarez, Professor of Political Science, California Institute of Technology
  • Curtis Gans, Director of the Center for the Study of the American Electorate, American University
  • Mark Glaze, Director of Public Affairs, The Campaign Legal Center
  • Paul Gronke, Associate Professor of Political Science, Reed College
  • Richard Hasen, Professor of Law, Loyola Law School, and Editor of Election Law Journal
  • Paula Hawthorn, Former Manager of Operating Systems Research, Hewlett Packard Laboratories
  • Mark F. Hearne II, Partner, Lathrop and Gage LC
  • Steven Hochman, Research Director, The Carter Center
  • Robin Leeds, Scholar-in-Residence at the Women & Politics Institute, American University
  • R. Doug Lewis, Executive Director, The Election Center
  • David Lublin, Associate Professor of Government, American University
  • Jennifer McCoy, Director of the Americas Program, The Carter Center
  • Karen O'Connor, Professor of Government and Director of the Women & Politics Institute, American University
  • Norman Ornstein, Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute
  • Cameron Quinn, U.S. Elections Advisor, International Foundation for Election Systems
  • Jamin Raskin, Professor of Law, American University Washington School of Law
  • Rob Richie, Executive Director, Center for Voting and Democracy
  • John Samples, Director of the Center for Representative Government, CATO Institute
  • Leonard Shambon, Counsel, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP
  • Richard G. Smolka, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, American University
  • Robert Stein, Dean of Social Sciences and Professor of Political Science, Rice University
  • James Thurber, Director of the Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies, American University
  • Dan Wallach, Associate Professor of Computer Science, Rice University