Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Center for Environmental Policy

Support the Fund

To learn more about these benefits and about making a contribution to the Reilly Fund please contact Danielle Miller Wagner ( or 202-744-6506) or Dan Mackeben ( or 202-885-3968).


Public Affairs, School of
Kerwin Hall

Phone: (202) 885-2940 Graduate programs: Undergraduate programs:

Public Affairs, School of
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016

William K. Reilly Fund's Annual Lecture & Award Series

2017 Event

Jay Faison, CEO and Founder of the ClearPath Foundation, announced as the keynote speaker of the 2017 William K. Reilly Awards.

Winners for the 2017 William K. Reilly Awards are Claire Barnett of the Healthy Schools Network, and Vannesa and Ben Henneke of The International Small Group and Tree Planting Program.

Sponsor the 2017 Reilly Awards

2016 Event

The 2016 William K. Reilly Awards will be held on March 31, 2016. Named after former EPA Administrator and World Wildlife Fund President William K. Reilly, the awards recognize leaders from the private, non-profit and government sectors in environmental and energy policy.

The William K. Reilly Awards will be headlined by award winners Mindy Lubber, President of Ceres, and Robert Perciasepe, President of the Center for Climate and Energy Strategies, as well as by keynote speaker Felicia Marcus, Chair of the California Water Resources Control Board.

Space at the Reilly Awards is limited. Please contact Jake Assael at for event information. To stay current on news regarding the William. K. Awards, “like” the American University Center for Environmental Policy on Facebook and follow Professor Daniel Fiorino, the center's director, on Twitter.

For information about the event or sponsorship availability, please contact Danielle Miller Wagner at

View the Program

Thank you to our generous sponsors:

Reilly Fund 2016 Sponsors

Thank you to our Affiliates for Providing In-Kind Support:

Reilly Fund 2016 Affiliates

2015 Event

The Center for Environmental Policy's William K. Reilly Awards for Environmental Leadership recognize individuals in environmental careers who demonstrate the qualities of leadership, innovation, engagement of diverse interests, effective problem solving and contributions to future generations of environmental leaders. The awards, named in honor of one of the most respected leaders in U.S. environmental policy, were given at a ceremony held at American University on March 26, 2015 to Ben Grumbles, Maryland Secretary of Environment, and Fred Krupp, President of the Environmental Defense Fund (EDF), will receive the 2015 William K. Reilly Environmental Leadership Awards.
Read more »

2014 Event

The second annual William K. Reilly Awards for Environmental Leadership were presented at an event on April 24, 2014, on the American University campus in Washington, D.C. The event honored award winners Daniel C. Esty, former commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, and Nsedu Obot Witherspoon, executive director of the Children's Environmental Health Network, for their contributions to innovations in environmental policy. At the event U.S. Senator Bob Graham delivered a keynote address, Bill Reilly provided remarks, and graduate students from the School of Public Affairs were awarded scholarships.

Watch the 2014 Ceremony

2013 Event

The first annual William K. Reilly Awards for Environmental Leadership were presented on April 23, 2013 at an invitation-only gala that awarded outstanding SPA students with scholarships and honored a pair of leaders in the world of environmental policy, Deerin Babb-Brott and Jeffrey Leonard.

Watch the 2013 Ceremony

Leadership Awardees 2016

Mindy Lubber
President of Ceres

Bob Perciasepe
President of the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions

Scholarship Winners 2016

Maria Manuella Athayde (MPP, 2017)
Maggie McCarey (MPA, 2017)

Leadership Awardees 2015

Ben Grumbles
Maryland Secretary of Environment

Fred Krupp
President of the Environmental Defense Fund (EDF)

Scholarship Winners 2015

Amy Purpura, SPA/MPP '16
Jennifer Hatch, SPA/MPA '16

Leadership Awardees 2014

Daniel C. Esty
Director of the Yale Center for Environmental Law and Policy and the Center for Business and Environment at Yale

Nsedu Obot Witherspoon
Executive Director for the Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN)

Scholarship Winners 2014

Jennifer Hernandez, SPA/MPP '15
Kavita Mak, SPA/MPP '15

Leadership Awardees 2013

Deerin Babb-Brott
Director of the White House National Oceans Council

Jeffrey Leonard
President and Chief Executive Officer of the Global Environment Fund

Scholarship winners 2013

Kristina Bell, SPA/MPA’14
Samuel Cramer, SPA/MPP’14
Zachary Rybarczyk, SPA/MPP’14

Learn more about the Reilly Scholars