Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Department of Public Administration & Policy


SPA: Public Administration
Ward, Room

Graduate programs:

SPA: Public Administration
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8070
Charles H. Levine

Charles H. Levine Memorial Fund & Lecture

The Charles H. Levine Memorial Fund and Lecture in Public Administration and Policy honors the life, scholarly contributions, and public service of one of the most respected public management scholars in these fields, and the first Distinguished Professor of Government and Public Administration in the School of Public Affairs (SPA) at American University. Read the Appreciation

2016 Event

Barry Rabe, SPA Visiting Scholar in Residence

This year's Levine Lecture will be part of the Department of Public Administration and Policy Awards Night which will be held on Friday, April 15th, 2016. The lecture will be delivered by Barry Rabe.

Barry Rabe is the J. Ira and Nicki Harris of Public Policy at the Gerald R. Ford School at the University of Michigan, where he also directs the Center for Local, State and Urban Policy. Barry is also a non-resident senior fellow in Governance Studies at the Brookings Institution and recently completed a fellowship as a Public Policy Scholar at the Wilson Center. He is a political scientist with research and teaching interests in areas of environmental and energy policy, with particular emphasis on issues of federalism. He is the recipient of three research awards from the American Political Science Association, including the Daniel Elazar Award for career contributions to the field of federalism. Barry's current research examines the durability and performance of market-based environmental policies in the United States and Canada.

Livestream coverage of the Levine Lecture will be available to watch on the School of Public Affairs' Ustream channel beginning at 6:00 PM on Friday, April 15.

Support the Fund

The Charles H. Levine Fund supports research, travel, and other professional development opportunities for PhD candidates studying public administration and policy in SPA. To make a donation or to learn more about the Levine Endowment Fund, contact:

Daniel Mackeben

Previous Speakers

Donald F. Kettl
Read more about the lecture »

Paul C. Light
Read more about the lecture »

James L. Perry
Read more about the lecture »

Laurence Lynn
Read more about the lecture »

Hal Rainey
Read more about the lecture »

Kenneth Meier

Previous PhD Student Manuscript Award Winners

Matthew Vanderschuere

Christopher Birdsall

Katie Vinopal

Michael Hayes

John Marvel and Jaclyn Schede Piatak

About Charles Levine

Charles Levine earned his BA from the University of Connecticut, and master's degrees in both public administration and business administration from Indiana University, where he also earned a doctoral degree in political science. He was a leading champion of the civil service. He was the author or coauthor of nine books, including such classics as Managing Fiscal Stress and The Politics of Retrenchment. He was also widely published in leading journals of public administration and policy, and was known for his seminal works on cutback management in fiscally challenging times.

Before joining the SPA, Dr. Levine taught at Michigan State University, Syracuse University, Cornell University, the University of Kansas (as the first Edward O. Stene Distinguished Professor), and the University of Maryland. Between 1983 and 1987, he also was a member of the senior staff of the Brookings Institution and a Senior Specialist in American National Government and Public Administration with the Congressional Research Service at the Library of Congress. At the time of his passing, he was also deputy director of the National Commission on the Public Service (also known as the first Volcker Commission). In recognition of Dr. Levine’s stature, the American Society for Public Administration, the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration, the Academy of Management, and the International Political Science Association have subsequently established awards in his name.

2014 Levine Lecture

2013 Levine Lecture

2012 Levine Lecture