Faculty Fellows


Michael Bader Assistant Professor CAS - Sociology

Michael Bader studies how cities and neighborhoods have evolved since the height of the Civil Rights Movement. He links long-term patterns of neighborhood racial change to the ways that race and class

  bader@american.edu

  (202) 885-2433

Ernesto Castaneda-Tinoco Assistant Professor CAS - Sociology

Ernesto Castañeda conducts research on migration, urban issues, health disparities, vulnerable populations, and social movements. He compares immigrant integration and ethnic political mobilization in

  (202) 885-2412

Maria De Jesus Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Maria De Jesus brings to AU a wealth of research and teaching experiences in the area of health disparities, a critical area of focus in interstate and transnational relations. Her research examin

  dejesus@american.edu

  (202) 885-6392

Daniel Esser Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Esser's current research investigates the social foundations of political legitimacy in non-democratic settings. This new line of inquiry builds on his widely cited work on urban governance,

  esser@american.edu

  (202) 885-1892

Lewis Faulk Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Lewis Faulk is an Associate Professor of Public Administration and Policy in the School of Public Affairs at American University. Dr. Faulk is a Fellow of the Metropolitan Policy Center at American Un

  faulk@american.edu

  (202) 885-6384

Carolyn Gallaher Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

I do research in two distinct areas—organized violence by non-state actors and urban politics In the first area, on which I have spent more time, I examine the politics, internal dynamics, and patter

  caroleg@american.edu

  (202) 885-1827

Sonya Grier Professor KSB - Marketing

Professor Grier conducts interdisciplinary research on topics related to target marketing, race in the marketplace, the social impact of commercial marketing, and social marketing. Her current researc

  sonya.grier@american.edu

  (202) 885-1971

Bradley Hardy Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Hardy is an Associate Professor of Public Administration and Policy and nonresident senior fellow in Economic Studies at the Brookings Institution. His research interests lie within labor economics, w

  hardy@american.edu

  (202) 885-3881

Jocelyn Johnston Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professor Johnston’s current research focuses on government contracting, public management, and intergovernmental programs and policy. Her publications can be seen in such scholarly journals as the Jo

  johnston@american.edu

  (202) 885-2608

Daniel Kerr Associate Professor CAS - History

Dan Kerr, the director of American University's public history program, specializes in the fields of community history, oral history, and public history. The projects he has initiated, including the C

  kerr@american.edu

  (202) 885-2161

Jordanna Matlon Assistant Professor SIS - School of International Service

Dr. Matlon is an urban sociologist interested in questions of race and belonging in Africa and the African diaspora, and the ways “blackness” as a signifier – and in its intersection with gender, clas

  jcmatlon@american.edu

  (202) 885-6720

Taryn Morrissey Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Dr. Morrissey's work centers on examining and improving public policies for vulnerable children. She is Associate Professor of public policy at AU, a non-resident fellow at the Urban Institute, and a

  morrisse@american.edu

  (202) 885-6323

David Pike Department Chair, Literature CAS - Literature

Professor Pike is Chair of the Department of Literature (June 2016-May 2019). His most recent book is Canadian Cinema since the 1980s: At the Heart of the World (U of Toronto P, 2012). He is the autho

  dpike@american.edu

  (202) 885-2996

Malini Ranganathan Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr Ranganathan is a critical geographer and political ecologist with an interest in urban environmental justice in both the South and North. Her research focuses on water, flooding, and land in the ci

  malini@american.edu

  (202) 885-6901