Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Student Resources

Honorary Societies

The school recognizes both academic and professional achievement by students and alumni through membership in national honorary societies.

Alpha Phi Sigma | National Society of Collegiate Scholars | Phi Sigma Pi | Pi Sigma Alpha | Phi Alpha Alpha

Alpha Phi Sigma

National honor society for criminal justice recognizing scholarship in the justice field. National Web site »

Eligibility
All top standings top students in Criminal Justice, SPA

Contact
Linda Spicer
Staff Liaison
202-885-6456
lspicer@american.edu

National Society of Collegiate Scholars

Honoring students for outstanding scholarship and community service National Web site »

Eligibility
Freshmen and sophomores from all schools

Contact
Recognized and advised by Student Activities:

Nicole Mehta
Staff Advisor
202-885-3391
nmehta@american.edu

Svetlana Xu
Faculty Advisor
sxu@american.edu

Phi Sigma Pi

Co-ed Honors fraternity open to all undergraduates

Eligibility
Open to students from all schools

Contact
Recognized and advised by Student Activities:

Curtis Burrill
Staff Advisor
202-885-3288
burrill@american.edu

Lacey Wooten
Faculty Advisor
wooten@american.edu

Pi Sigma Alpha

The Political Science Honorary Society, supported by the American Political Science Association. National Web site »

Eligibility
Undergraduates who have at least 10 credits in Government work or graduates with at least 9 credits in Government work.

Contact
Chris Edelson
Faculty Advisor
202-885-6218
edelson@american.edu

Phi Alpha Alpha

Induction into Pi Alpha Alpha signifies the nominee has excelled in scholarship and accomplishment as a student of public affairs and administration.

Eligibility

While Pi Alpha Alpha recognizes undergraduates, AU only inducts graduate student members. For master's students, the AU requirement is a GPA of 3.7 or higher within 9-12 credits of graduation.

Contact
Renee Howatt
Staff Advisor
202-885-3125
howatt@american.edu

Stephanie Newbold
Faculty Advisor
202-885-6361
newbold@american.edu