Faculty


Jennifer Lawless Professor SPA - Government

Jennifer L. Lawless graduated from Union College in Schenectady, New York, with a B.A. in political science. She went on to receive an M.A. and Ph.D. in political science from Stanford University. Her

  lawless@american.edu

  (202) 885-6452

Kimberly Cowell-Meyers Assistant Professor SPA - Government

Kimberly Cowell-Meyers is Assistant Professor of Government. An AU alumna, she has taught at AU, St. Mary's College of Maryland and Christopher Newport University in Newport News, VA. She is the autho

  kcowell@american.edu

  (202) 885-6223

Ellen Feder Professor and Department Chair, Philosophy and Religion CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Ellen K. Feder is the William Fraser McDowell Professor of Philosophy and Social Policy. She works at the intersection of contemporary continental philosophy and feminist and critical race theory, par

  efeder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2140

Lucy Gettman Adjunct Instructor

Lucy Gettman is Executive Director of Women In Government (WIG), Inc., an organization of 1800+ women state legislators that provides leadership opportunities, networking, expert forums and educationa

  gettman@american.edu

Jane Hall Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Jane Hall is a professor in journalism and media studies in the School of Communication. She specializes in media and politics, particularly issues of special interest to young people, the depicti

  jhall@american.edu

  (202) 885-2024

Danny Hayes Faculty Fellow SPA - Government

Danny Hayes is associate professor of political science at George Washington University. He previously held faculty appointments at American University and Syracuse University. He received his Ph.D. i

  dhayes@american.edu

  (202) 885-6263

Diane Lowenthal School of Prof & Extd Studies

Diane Lowenthal is the Senior Associate Dean in SPExS. She came to AU in 2000 to teach American Politics Seminars and supervise Research Projects for the Washington Semester Program. Prior to joining

  diane.lowenthal@american.edu

  (202) 895-4915

Amanda Miller Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Amanda Fuchs Miller has 20 years of policy, research and press experience in Democratic politics and government. As President of Seventh Street Strategies LLC, Amanda works for candidates and progress

  fuchsmil@american.edu

Constance Morella Ambassador in Residence

Connie Morella served as U.S. ambassador to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in Paris from 2003 to 2007. She represented Maryland’s 8th district in the U.S. House of R

  cmorella@american.edu

Karen O'Connor Jonathan N. Helfat Distinguished Professor of Political Science SPA - Government

Karen O’Connor is the Jonathan N. Helfat Distinguished Professor of Political Science at American University, where she previously served as Chair of the Department of Government. She is an expert on

  oconn@american.edu

  (202) 885-6237

Gemma Puglisi Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Gemma Puglisi is a full-time professor of Public Communication. She is an award-winning media strategist and producer with more than 25 years of experience. During her career she has worked in broadca

  puglisi@american.edu

  (202) 885-2153

Elizabeth Sherman Assistant Professor SPA - Government

Professor Sherman brings over two decades of teaching, research and administrative experience to her classes in American Politics. As founding director of the Center for Women in Politics and Public P

  esherman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2942

Jessica Waters Dean of Undergraduate Education & Vice Provost for Academic Student Services Provost, Office of the

Jessica Waters is the Dean for Undergraduate Education and a faculty member in the School of Public Affairs as well as an adjunct faculty member at the Washington College of Law. Her research focuses

  waters@american.edu

  (202) 885-2301