Skip to main content

News Story


Career Center
Fax: 202-885-1861
Butler Pavilion, Room 5th Floor

Monday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Career Center
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8011


AU Celebrates Ninth Truman Winner in Nine Years

By Adrienne Frank

Kyrie Bannar, winner of Truman Award

(Photo: Peter Howard)

Junior Kyrie Bannar of New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, has won the Harry S. Truman Scholarship, becoming the 16th AU student to receive the prestigious award.

A double major in the School of Public Affairs and the College of Arts and Sciences, Bannar will receive $30,000 for graduate training in law and public policy in order to assist victims of domestic violence.

In addition to her commitment to academic excellence—she  maintains a 3.86 GPA—Bannar has demonstrated exceptional leadership skills around issues of domestic violence.

She is director of AU’s Take Back the Night and Domestic Violence Awareness Programming and created a peer mentors program to raise awareness about teen violence among high school girls.

Bannar also works as a court watch volunteer and on-call advocate for Survivor’s and Advocates for Empowerment, working late-night shifts with the Metropolitan Police Department in Southeast Washington. She staffs a hotline for people trying to flee their abusers and has monitored court cases to ensure that victims of domestic violence are treated fairly in the judicial process.

A double major in CLEG and sociology, Bannar is a student in the University Honors Program and also was named Outstanding Honors Sophomore in 2008.

AU has produced 16 Truman Scholars, including nine in the past nine years.
The Truman Scholarship Foundation was established by Congress in 1975 as the federal memorial to the 33rd president. The foundation awards scholarships for college students to attend graduate school in preparation for careers in government or elsewhere in public service.