You are here: American University College of Arts & Sciences About CAS Alpha Epsilon Delta

Alpha Epsilon Delta

Begun in 1926 at the University of Alabama, Alpha Epsilon Delta is the largest honor society serving pre-medical education, with over 144,000 members in 186 chapters throughout the country. AED functions as both an honor society and a service organization. The mission of AED is:

  • To encourage and recognize excellence in premedical scholarship;
  • To stimulate an appreciation of the importance of premedical education;
  • To promote communication between medical and premedical students and educators;
  • To provide a forum for students with common interest;
  • To use its resources to benefit health organizations, charities, and the community.

The American University chapter of AED (DC beta) was originally begun on the AU campus in 1984 by Dr. Marvin Pizer and continued until 1989. The AU chapter was re-instated with the national organization in 2004, with 20 new members inducted in April 2005.

Membership Criteria

Students interested in careers in the biomedical or health fields are encouraged to apply for membership. Applicants must have a cumulative overall GPA of 3.2, as well as a cumulative science GPA of 3.2, along with completion of at least three semesters of pre-professional health work. Freshmen may participate in chapter activities as affiliate members until they have completed the required coursework.

The AU chapter of AED engages in a number of activities, including educational or professional seminars, fund-raising events and charity events. Our chapter is associated with Luther Place, a homeless shelter for women, and Children's Hospital. In the past, we have organized personal hygiene item and canned food drives for Luther Place, and done "Trick-or-Treating" on the floors at Children's Hospital to help brighten up the patients' Halloween. In addition, we have welcomed speakers on such topics as the ethics of death and dying, osteopathic medicine and research opportunities for undergraduates and post-baccalaureate students at the National Institutes of Health.

Officers and Contact Information

President: Evan Ewers
Vice-President: MeLisa Creamer
Secretary: Zee Elovich
Membership Coordinator: Zantisha Winston
Historian: Andrew Surmak

The faculty advisors are Dr. Lynne Arneson and Dr. Fred Carson. For more information, please contact:

Dr. Lynne Arneson, 202-885-2186