Registration for New Students

Once you submit your enrollment confirmation, please contact the academic department to obtain academic advisement and registration access: select your academic program from the list below for contact information.

Programs

PhD

Anthropology (PhD)

Jean Wogaman
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-1838
Email: wogaman@american.edu

Note: Students will be notified via email by their department about their advisor assignment.

Economics (PhD)

Dr. Walter Park
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3774
Email: wgp@american.edu

History (PhD)

Dr. Kate Haulman
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2417
Email: haulman@american.edu

Note: PhD students may direct technical questions to history@american.edu, 202-885-2401 and substantive questions about course selection and planning to their faculty advisor or to the Director of Graduate Studies for History, Dr. Eric Lohr (elohr@american.edu).

Psychology: Behavior, Cognition & Neuroscience (PhD)

Dr. Mark Laubach
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2116
Email: mark.laubach@american.edu

Psychology: Clinical (PhD)

Dr. Kathleen Gunthert
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1701
Email: gunthert@american.edu

Master's

Anthropology (MA)

Jean Wogaman
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-1838
Email: wogaman@american.edu

Note: Students will be notified via email by their department about their advisor assignment.

Art History (MA)

Dr. Andrea Pearson
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3428
Email: pearson@american.edu

Note: All incoming full-time students should enroll in "Approaches to Art History" and choose two electives among the other courses offered at the graduate level.

Arts Management (MA)

Dr. Ximena Varela
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3883
Email: varela@american.edu

Audio Technology (MA)

Prof. Ana Cetina
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3477
Email: cetina@american.edu

Biology (MA/MS)

Dr. Daniel Fong
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2174
Email: dfong@american.edu

Biotechnology (MS)

Dr. Kathryn Walters-Conte
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6825
Email: kwalt@american.edu

Chemistry (MS)

Dr. Douglas Fox
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1735
Email: dfox@american.edu

Creative Writing (MFA)

Prof. Stephanie Grant
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2930
Email: sgrant@american.edu

Note: Students are advised not to register for two literature criticism courses in their first semester.

Education Policy and Leadership (MEd)

Jason Snyder
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6900
Email: curriculum@american.edu

Economics (MA)

Dr. Walter Park
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3774
Email: wgp@american.edu

Environmental Science (MS)

Dr. Stephen MacAvoy
Graduate Program Director
Phone: (301) 693-1888
Email: macavoy@american.edu

Ethics, Peace & Global Affairs (MA)

Dr. Ellen Feder
Graduate Program Director
Ethics, Peace and Global Affairs
Phone: 202-885-2140
Email: efeder@american.edu

Note: Please contact Dr. Oliver at your earliest convenience, as classes tend to fill up quickly.

Game Design (MA)

See School of Communications.

Health Promotion Management (MS)

Dr. Stacey Snelling
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6254
Email: healthfitness@american.edu

History (MA)

Dr. Kate Haulman
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2417
Email: haulman@american.edu

Note: Students entering the Public History track should contact the Director of the Public History program, Dr. Daniel Kerr (kerr@american.edu) prior to registering. All other students may direct technical questions to history@american.edu, 202-885-2401 and substantive questions about course selection and planning to their faculty advisor or to the Director of Graduate Studies for History, Dr. Eric Lohr (elohr@american.edu).

International Economics (MA)

Dr. Kara Reynolds
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3768
Email: reynolds@american.edu

International Training & Education (MA)

Ophira Bansal
Program Coordinator
Phone: 202-885-3128
Email: bansal@american.edu

Literature (MA)

Dr. Deborah Payne
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2997
Email: dcpayne@american.edu

Mathematics (MA)

Dr. Michael Limarzi
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3146
Email: limarzi@american.edu

Nutrition (MS)

Christina Lunsford
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-3795
Email: lunsford@american.edu

Philosophy (MA)

Dr. Ellen Feder
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2140
Email: efeder@american.edu

Note: Please contact Dr. Oliver at your earliest convenience, as classes tend to fill up quickly.

Psychology (MA)

Dr. Anthony Ahrens
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1714
Email: ahrens@american.edu

Public Anthropology (MA)

Jean Wogaman
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-1838
Email: wogaman@american.edu

Note: Students will be notified via email by their department about their advisor assignment.

Quantitative Analysis (MS)

Dr. Michael Baron
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3132
Email: baron@american.edu

Sociology (MA)

Dr. Michael Bader
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2433
Email: bader@american.edu

Spanish and Latin American Studies (MA)

Dr. Brenda Werth
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1449
Email: bwerth@american.edu

Special Education: Learning Disabilities (MA)

Dr. Jennifer Durham
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3720
Email: specialed@american.edu

Statistics (MS)

Dr. Michael Baron
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3132
Email: baron@american.edu

Studio Art (MFA)

Prof. Don Kimes
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3826
Email: dkimes@american.edu

Note: Students may also contact faculty members Zoe Charlton (Department Chair, Studio Art, Email: charlton@american.edu) or Jaylynn Saure (Administrative Coordinator, Email: saure@american.edu) if they have specific questions related to registration or the structure of the MFA Studio Art program.

Teaching (MAT):
Early Childhood, Elementary, Secondary, K-12 , ESOL, Bilingual

Julie Sara Boyd
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3746
Email: teachered@american.edu

Teaching English as a Foreign Language - TEFL (MA, Online)

Dr. Polina Vinogradova
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1446
Email: vinograd@american.edu

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages - TESOL (MA)

Dr. Polina Vinogradova
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1446
Email: vinograd@american.edu

Graduate Certificates

Applied Statistics (Certificate)

Dr. Michael Baron
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3132
Email: baron@american.edu

Arts Management (Certificate)

Dr. Ximena Varela
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3883
Email: varela@american.edu

Asian Studies (Certificate)

Dr. Jin Y. Park
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2919
Email: jypark@american.edu

Audio Production (Certificate)

Prof. Ana Cetina
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3477
Email: cetina@american.edu

Bilingual Education (Certificate)

Dr. Amelia Tseng
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3731
Email: bilingual@american.edu

Economics (Certificate)
(Applied Microeconomics, International Economic Relations, Gender Analysis)

Dr. Kara Reynolds
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3768
Email: reynolds@american.edu

Curriculum and Instruction (Certificate)

Jason Snyder
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6900
Email: curriculum@american.edu

International Arts Management (Certificate)

Prof. E. Andrew Taylor
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1601
Email: eataylor@american.edu

Nutrition Education (Certificate)

Dr. Stacey Snelling
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-6254
Email: healthfitness@american.edu

Post-Baccalaureate Premedical Certificate

Dr. Lynne Arneson
Phone: 202-885-2186
Email: larneso@american.edu

Note: Please contact Ms. Katherine Buster at buster@american.edu in the Office of Financial Aid regarding financial aid.

Psychobiology of Healing (Certificate)

Dr. Deborah Norris
Graduate Program Director
Email: dnorris@american.edu

Public Anthropology (Certificate)

Jean Wogaman
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: 202-885-1838
Email: wogaman@american.edu

Note: Students will be notified via email by their department about their advisor assignment.

Public Sociology (Certificate)

Dr. Salvador Vidal-Ortiz
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2443
Email: vidalort@american.edu

Social Research (Certificate)

Dr. Salvador Vidal-Ortiz
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2443
Email: vidalort@american.edu

Teaching (Certificate)

Julie Sara Boyd
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-3746
Email: teachered@american.edu

Technology in Arts Management (Certificate)

Prof. E. Andrew Taylor
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1601
Email: eataylor@american.edu

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages - TESOL (Certificate)

Dr. Polina Vinogradova
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1446
Email: vinograd@american.edu

Translation (Certificate)

French Translation:
Dr. Naima Hachad
Professor
Phone: 202-885-1458
hachad@american.edu

Russian Translation:
Ryan Cassidy
Phone: 202-885-2381
Email: rc9518@american.edu

Spanish Translation:
Dr. Brenda Werth
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-1449
Email: werth@american.edu

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies (Certificate)

Dr. Lauren Weis
Graduate Program Director
Phone: 202-885-2926
Email: weis@american.edu