Art History Faculty

On leave for the 2018-2019 academic year: Ying-Chen Peng, Kim Butler Wingfield.

Joanne Allen Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Art

Joanne Allen is Professorial Lecturer of art history; she teaches General Education courses as well as more specialized courses on Medieval art, Renaissance art, and the history of architecture, with

  jmallen@american.edu

  (202) 885-6822

Juliet Bellow Associate Professor CAS - Art

Juliet Bellow’s current research centers on the relationship between art and dance in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Her book Modernism on Stage: The Ballets Russes and the Parisian Avant-Gar

  bellow@american.edu

  (202) 885-6477

Kim Butler Wingfield Associate Professor CAS - Art

Professor Butler (PhD with distinction Johns Hopkins University 2003, BA with honors, Harvard University 1992) is Assistant Professor of Renaissance and Baroque Art History in American University in t

  butler@american.edu

  (202) 885-1569

Nika Elder Assistant Professor CAS - Art

Nika Elder specializes in North American art from the colonial period to the present, including African-American art and the history of photography. Her current research and courses examine the mutual

  nelder@american.edu

  (202) 885-1465

Andrea Pearson Associate Professor CAS - Art

Renowned for her revisionist publications on art and gender in the early modern Low Countries, Andrea Pearson is pursuing several projects that are helping to rewrite the art-historical record on soci

  pearson@american.edu

  (202) 885-3428

Ying-Chen Peng Assistant Professor CAS - Art

Dr. Peng specializes in late imperial and modern Chinese art history with a focus on gender issues and globalization of material culture. Before joining the American University she worked at the Natio

  peng@american.edu

  (202) 885-6475

Samuel Sadow Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS - Art

Sam Sadow is the Visual Resources Curator and an Adjunct Professorial Lecture in the Art Department of American University. His roles include managing the department's growing digital image collection

  ssadow@american.edu

  (202) 885-1675

Adjunct

Sarah Gordon Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Sarah Gordon specializes in the history of photography and American art. Her book, Indecent Exposures: Eadweard Muybridge’s Animal Locomotion Nudes (Yale Press, 2015), positions Muybridge’s revolution

  sgordon@american.edu

Anne Richter Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Anne Nellis Richter's field of specialization is British art of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. She is particularly interested in the art of the Romantic and Realist periods, and has a longst

  arichter@american.edu

Emerita

Norma Broude Professor Emerita CAS - Art

A pioneering feminist scholar and specialist in nineteenth-century French and Italian painting, Norma Broude is known for critical reassessments of Impressionism and the work of Degas, Caillebotte, Ca

  nbroude@american.edu

  (202) 885-1670

Mary Garrard Professor Emerita

Best known for her groundbreaking feminist scholarship, Garrard has drawn on feminist theory and activism to illuminate and reinterpret art of the Italian Renaissance-Baroque period. Her publications

  mgarrar@american.edu

Helen Langa Associate Professor CAS - Art

Professor Helen Langa teaches a sequence of courses on American Art from the colonial era to the late 20th century with an emphasis on issues related to national identity, politics, race, gender, and

  hlanga@american.edu

  (202) 885-1682