You are here: Feminist Art History Conference

2018 Feminist Art History Conference

September 28-30, 2018
Katzen Arts Center, American University

Sixth Feminist Art History Conference


Amelia Jones, Robert A. Day Professor in Art and Design and Vice-Dean of Critical Studies at the Roski School of Art and Design, University of Southern California


  • Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
    5520 Wisconsin Avenue
    Chevy Chase, MD 20815
  • Embassy Suites by Hilton
    Washington DC, Chevy Chase Pavilion
    4300 Military Road, NW
    Washington DC 20015
  • Washington Marriott Wardman Park
    2660 Woodley Road, NW
    Washington, DC 20008
  • Days Inn
    4400 Connecticut Avenue, NW
    Washington, DC 20008
Conference discussion.

Conference Background

Thanks to a generous endowment, the Feminist Art History Conference at American University will resume on a biennial basis starting in the fall of 2018.

The conference builds on the legacy of feminist art-historical scholarship and pedagogy initiated by Norma Broude and Mary D. Garrard at American University. With the goal of fostering a broad dialogue on feminist art-historical practice, the event will feature papers spanning a range of chronological, geographic, and intersectional topics.

Previous keynote speakers include Lisa Gail Collins, Vassar College (2014); Patricia Simons, University of Michigan (2013); Whitney Chadwick, San Francisco State University (2012); Mary Sheriff, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill (2011); and Anna Chave, Queens College and the Graduate School, CUNY (2010).

New Paperback by Broude & Garrard

Introducing Feminist Art History, now available in paperback as well as e-book format, brings together the landmark introductory essays and prefaces written by Norma Broude and Mary D. Garrard for their five co-edited volumes on feminism and art history (1982-2005). With a new preface (2014).

Two conference attendees

Conference Testimonials

"Thank you for staging such an interesting and important conference that keeps feminism visible in our field and gives us a chance to share ideas across continents and generations."
- Sherry C.M. Lindquist

"What defines a memorable experience for a scholarly conference is superb organization, exemplary scholarship, and genuine collegiality. We look forward to continuing our conversations with this community of feminist scholars."
- Amy K. Hamlin & Karen J. Leader

Committee & Sponsors

Organizing committee: Joanne Allen, Juliet Bellow, Norma Broude, Kim Butler Wingfield, Nika Elder, Mary D. Garrard, Helen Langa, Andrea Pearson, and Ying-chen Peng.

Sponsored by the Art History Program and the Department of Art, College of Arts and Sciences, American University.